Happy Birthday, Katie Bug!

My little sweetie is 7 today!  I cannot believe it!

7 years ago today we welcomed her into the world and she has been such a blessing from God. I am amazed at how you can just love someone so much that it hurts.  Both of my girls just bring so much happiness and joy to our lives and we are so thankful for both of them.

Katie was supposed to be born the day after Christmas.  I was huge and miserable and she was late.  So, I was supposed to be induced on the 3rd of January, but they called on the 1st and said that something had come up and they wanted to induce me earlier.  Oh hallelujah!  I couldn’t wait to get to the hospital!

When we got there, they found that I was already in labor and dilated to about 3.  I had a long difficult labor that was scary at one point.  We were now into the next day and both Katie’s and my blood pressure dropped to dangerous levels and they had to do an emergency c-section.

So, at 7:26 am on January 2nd my dark haired, beautiful brown-eyed girl was delivered.  She had TONS of black hair.  You’d never know that now with all of her golden locks, but her hair was coal black at birth.   And the funny thing about it was that when it turned blonde, it didn’t fall out out and come black in blonde.  It just turned blonde!  She had black ends and blonde roots for a long time and people were always asking me if I dyed her hair like that!

And much to my surprise, she was the New Year’s Baby for our county!  I knew that when I went in on the 1st that the New Year’s baby had not yet been born.  And while I was in labor, it turns out that another lady that I played softball with was also in labor and we were pretty much racing to be the one to have the New Year’s baby.  So, by the time she was born, I just assumed that the other lady had won.  Not so!  Katie was the winner!

So, we got lots of cool prizes and our picture in the paper.  It was pretty neat!

Here’s the birthday girl, just after getting out of bed.  (We like to hit ’em early on their birthday!)

101_3147

And here she is opening her birthday gift.  A Nintendo DS that she has been pining for forever!

101_3149

Tomorrow she is having some of her friends from school over for a slumber party, so she’s real excited about that!

Happy Birthday, Sweetie!  I love you so much!

101_3151

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Katie Bug!

  1. Becky January 2, 2009 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Happy Birthday, Katie!!!
    A NINTENDO DS?! I am so jealous.
    My Boo Man has one, but I don’t get a chance to play it. Darn it!! Maybe I’ll get one for my birthday, too.

  2. Maggie January 4, 2009 at 11:53 pm Reply

    Happy Birthday (a little late)beautiful Katie!
    With lots of love, Uncle Steve, Aunt Mag, Jacob, Brian, Sarah, and Toby too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

