The Village

I realize that right before Christmas is probably not the best time to be talking about a spooky movie, but I’ve been itching to watch this movie again lately, for some reason.

It’s M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village or, as Ju and I like to call him, Shammalammalamma.  It’s much funner to say it like that.

I love scary movies.  I don’t like demonic, evil or gory, but I like to be scared.  And this movie is perfect for that.  I literally jumped out of my seat 3 or 4 times in the movie theater while watching this.  And while it didn’t receive great reviews from the critics, I give it 2 thumbs up!  Oh and the soundtrack was really awesome!

It was spooky and scary without being evil and gory.  Loved it!  LOVED it!

So, I’m curious if any of you saw it and if so, what is your opinion?

Oh, and I did watch A Christmas Carole today, the Alastair Sim one (and also the best one in my humble opinion), so I haven’t completely abandoned Christmas!

12 thoughts on “The Village

  1. auntju December 18, 2008 at 12:14 am Reply

    Oh man, between watching this video and buying that strange red snuggie blanket with sleeves thing for mom for Christmas, I’ve got Village fever! I also loved that movie!

    After mom opens her present at Christmas, we can use that red snuggie to do a reenactment of the village and scare all the little children! We need to get some long claw like things too!

  2. klutzymama December 18, 2008 at 12:52 am Reply

    Fabulous idea! I get to be the blind girl and you can be the spooky creature in the red snuggie!

  3. Becky December 18, 2008 at 3:26 am Reply

    Nope, haven’t seen it.
    But if you think it’s that good, I’m gonna have to!
    I love scary stuff, too. But you knew that, didn’t you?!

  4. Maggie December 18, 2008 at 12:00 pm Reply

    That is one of those movies that freaked me out and stayed on my mind for days. Somebody recommended it… Was it dear sweet Mamaw? I can’t remember! Of course my dearest made fun of me for being creeped out. He says that if there’s no real monster then it’s not worth watching.

    I’m going to make 2 Christmas predictions…
    1. Jacob will turn that snuggie thing into some sort of Jedi/Sith robe.
    2. Steve will make fun of Julie for buying the snuggie. We both laugh at the commercial every time we see it! It takes so little to amuse us.

    AuntJu’s avatar of Harrison Ford reminds me… Have you watched “Witness” lately? It was on TV a few nights ago. Oh my. Harrison’s best movie ever! Sigh. Of course Indiana Jones and Star Wars fans may disagree. 😉

  5. Gretchen December 18, 2008 at 2:12 pm Reply

    That is so hilarious that Julie got that. Ryan always tells me I need to make some – its just a blanket with sleeves – you can do it – that’s what he always tells me. I can’t wait to see her try it on! Did you also get her a Chia Pet?

  6. klutzymama December 18, 2008 at 3:37 pm Reply

    Maggie,
    Is Witness the one where he has to go live with the Amish people? I love that one!

  7. Maggie December 18, 2008 at 7:15 pm Reply

    Gretchen, Lol at the chia pet. Hmmm… I haven’t got Mamaw a gift yet. I’ll get her a “clapper” if you get her a chia. Oh, and don’t forget an Aqua Globe makes an excellent gift for those of us who are too tired to regularly water our plants! 😀

    Amee, yes that’s the one! That movie is so romantic. My boys and husband were rolling their eyes throughout the entire movie as I sighed at the romance of it all. Jacob and Brian were fearing for their video games and computer as I tried to figure out a way that we could go Amish.

  8. klutzymama December 18, 2008 at 7:17 pm Reply

    Hannah actually asked me if she could have a Chia Head for Christmas! And you know the head is the absolute worst one of all!

  9. Gretchen December 18, 2008 at 11:35 pm Reply

    I don’t know I think the Shreck head or the Homer Simpson head is the worst.

    Maggie,
    I loved that movie. Anytime it is on with TV I watch it and I too am trying to figure out a way to be Amish but with electronics – would that be Mennonite? I’m not sure.

  10. Kristi Smith December 19, 2008 at 3:40 am Reply

    Haven’t seen it. I don’t like scary movies. I am jealous you can get a You Tube video to post on your blog. I have been trying to load a Twilight parody on my blog and can’t get it to work. I once did it before but I have forgot how to now. I know it is different for the different types of blogs. Argh.

  11. auntju December 19, 2008 at 6:14 am Reply

    Okay, family! I’m not feeling the love over my Snuggie gift! You have no idea how HOT this gift item is for Christmas 2008…I’ve had to bid on like 10 of these to get just one Village-ready, blood-red robe! They are back ordered everywhere! I think everyone will be wanting one and asking me where I got it if mamaw is brave enough to actually put it on in front of the boys! So don’t be ashamed if you want one too… you can ask me for the details when the brotherhood of the family isn’t watching! : )

  12. Maggie December 19, 2008 at 11:16 am Reply

    You are a good daughter Miss Julie. I will try to protect you from your brother’s rude remarks on Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

