Fun With Books

"Stack of Old Hardcover books" by AllPosters.com

"Stack of Old Hardcover books" by AllPosters.com

I love to read.  Like really really love it.

I love it so much that I actually find myself getting angry when I have finished a book and don’t have something else already lined up to read.  Is that bad?

I promised myself that I wouldn’t read anymore until I finished making my sister’s afghan, but then I ran out of yarn the other day and haven’t yet made my trek into the big city to get more.

So, right now I’m reading this wonderful book called Charms For The Easy Life by Kaye Gibbons.  I think it was published around 1960.   It is set in North Carolina and starts out in the early 1900’s and moves through 3 generations, centering around one woman, Charlie Kate, and her daughter, Sophia, and granddaughter, Margaret.  The book is basically just the stories and struggles of their lives, but they are such interesting characters, that I am having a hard time putting it down.  I’m anxious to finish it so I can try to read more of Kaye Gibbons’ novels.

And the main reason for this post, is that I was reading another blog this morning and it had a fun little thing to do with books.  It said you were supposed to pick up the book closest to you and turn to page 55 and read the 5th line.  So, closest to me is my book and also underneath is Katie’s atlas, which she received for her birthday last year.  This is her favorite book.  It goes everywhere she goes.  She takes it to school so she can look at it when she has free time and she takes it to bed every night to look at after the lights are out.  So, I’m going to do both books.

First mine:  “We checked into the hotel after our walk on the beach and a flounder dinner at a place called the Sanitary Fish Market, a worrisome name for a restaurant.”

Now Katie’s:  Page 55 in her atlas is Spain & Portugal – “The very southern tip of Spain almost touches Africa.”

🙂  Now wasn’t that fun?  No?  Okay, well it was for me!

This reminds me of when Ju and I went to Detroit last year to watch the Cowboys beat the Lions.  We had finally gotten to our hotel and went out for a bite to eat.  It was really cold and nasty out, so we decided to go back to the hotel and see if they had any playing cards at the front desk.  They did not, but they did have this really great fire roaring in the fire place and a plethora of old books on the bookshelves.   So, we invented a game.  We each chose a book from the shelf and opened it to a random page and without looking, pointed our fingers to a sentence.  We would then take turns reading each of our sentences and the one that was most interesting was the winner.

Yeah I know, we’re crazy.  We really know how to get out there and kick up our heels!

But it was actually fun.  Except for the fact that her sentences were always really great and mine would always be something like: “She walked to the kitchen and pulled out the black pot.”  Blah.

Sooooo…if you’re ever in a hotel in Detroit on a cold winter’s night and don’t know what to do with yourself…well, now you know!  You can thank me later.

Oh and if anyone wants to play the book game, feel free to leave it in the comments section or a link to your own blog where we can go and read it.  You know, if you’re a big book geek like me and that actually sounds like fun to you.

8 thoughts on “Fun With Books

  1. Becky December 7, 2008 at 7:40 pm Reply

    I couldn’t resist playing along.

    “Refusing to “let it bug you” can apply to virtually anything–kids’ fighting or demanding your attention, chaos, a messy room, a leaking roof, a noisy pet, an overflowing closet, or a snoring spouse.”
    From: Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff With Your Family”.

  2. Christy December 7, 2008 at 8:48 pm Reply

    oh…I love your game! and I’m a book geek just like you!!! From “The Stillmeadow Road”…”But sometimes I think the reason for many things is hidden in mystery.” and from “The Pursuit of God” by A.W. Tozer….”Something in them was open to heaven, something which urged them Godward.”

  3. Kristi Smith December 8, 2008 at 2:04 am Reply

    I am reading Twilight and the 5th line on page 55 was not very interesting. 😉 Can you believe I am reading??? 😉

    I can’t believe that I have two friends that use the word plethora!!!

    Did you know it is snowing on your blog? 🙂

  4. klutzymama December 8, 2008 at 10:24 am Reply

    Kristi,
    I like using big words…it makes me feel cool! 🙂

  5. lil' sis December 8, 2008 at 1:47 pm Reply

    I am sorry but I couldn’t get passed the line “but then I ran out of yarn the other day and haven’t made the trek into the big city to get any” ???? What I am sorry but you have been out of yarn since Thanksgiving Day!! And I know you have made it into town since then!! What is going on? GET TO WORK!! LOL!!

  6. rma910 December 8, 2008 at 9:58 pm Reply

    I thought mine would be boring… the only book I have at work is “The Great Game of Business” which I had to write an essay on for my strategic management class. The line is pretty funny though… “You make a bonehead move like that, and you can never get a swollen head.”

    Much funnier than anticipated. 🙂
    Becky

    • klutzymama December 8, 2008 at 10:03 pm Reply

      That was a good one, Becky. It would’ve been a winner at the game that Ju and I made up, that’s for sure! 🙂

  7. […] So, let’s play the book game!  Don’t remember it?  Well that’s okay, it was a while ago that we last played it.  You can refresh your memory here. […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

