Thanksgiving ’08

We had a great Thanksgiving this year.  We went to my mom and dad’s and stuffed ourselves into oblivion.  Then we had our annual football game.  We’ve been doing this every Thanksgiving for as far back as I can remember.  My sweet mamaw even used to play every once in a while.  And do any of you family members who are reading remember  the Snow Bowl of 1980-something?  I don’t remember the exact year, but I remember we played out in the street in front of Mamaw’s house and it was solid ice everywhere!  Good times…good times.

101_2865

Everyone is getting limbered up here and putting on their flags, which by the way, I have no idea why we even use the flags.  We all end up being tackled at some point.  My sister and I were guarding each other this year and we were on the ground more than we were upright and even cracked our skulls together a time or two!

101_2866

I don’t know who those two fierce-looking players are, but judging by their uniforms, they must be really good!101_2867

101_2870

101_2874

“Time out!  Moooommmmm!  We need the pooper scooper out here!

101_2872

Some of the youngsters, enjoying the game…

101_2844

My daughter and my niece.  Don’t they look like they could be sisters?

101_2848

101_2847

Then on Sunday, we went to my mother-in-law’s and stuffed ourselves again!  Time to start getting back into shape for me!

101_2923

9 thoughts on “Thanksgiving ’08

  1. Becky December 2, 2008 at 1:06 am Reply

    Okay first, WHO WON????
    Second, I love how the kids look directly into the camera. They are not bashful.
    The adults always try to avoid the camera. Why is that?
    Third, lovely family, both sides!!
    Fourth, Yes, they look like sisters.
    And last, I wanna be on the team of the two fierce-looking players!!!

  2. klutzymama December 2, 2008 at 1:17 am Reply

    Well Becky,
    We lost. That is in no way intended as a reflection of my football ability, mind you! 😉

  3. Christy December 2, 2008 at 2:47 pm Reply

    Sounds like a wonderful Thanksgiving!! I LOVE your parents house!!!…I’ve always wanted a big white farmhouse!! 🙂 At least you worked some of those calories off after Thanksgiving dinner…by playing football!!! We ate and ate and sat and sat and ate and ate some more…we should’ve gotten a game of football in!!! 😉

  4. klutzymama December 2, 2008 at 2:52 pm Reply

    Thank you Christy. We love going over there because they’ve got a couple of acres that backs up to a cornfield. It’s great. We like to take our dogs over there too and just let them run wild!

  5. Kathy@brazoscowgirl December 2, 2008 at 11:47 pm Reply

    The Cowboys won! I called it!

    I love football! Heads up I have goats on my blog! The love corn! Corn season is so hard for them.

  6. Gretchen December 3, 2008 at 1:27 pm Reply

    I’m so sad I did not get to be there this year. I heard Kristen played which I can hardly believe. Bruce looks hilarious in the picture where he is stretching.

  7. 50s Housewife December 3, 2008 at 4:29 pm Reply

    Looks like you all had a great time! I love football. Can I come next year? 😉

  8. Kristi Smith December 5, 2008 at 12:07 am Reply

    That looked like a good time. Wish I could have been there . . . I would have taken you down,

    yeah, right. 😉

  9. lil' sis December 5, 2008 at 9:37 pm Reply

    I know this is a little late but, I just wanted to say that I was given the great honor of being paired up against my Big Sister. And let me just say that every chance she got, she was knocking me to the ground! And might I add that I am like a dainty flower! It was terrible. LOL!! WE KICKED THIER BUTTS!! My wonderful daughter, who is like my mini-me, scored 2 touchdowns!! I can’t tell you how much I liked beating my sis.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

