What Am I Getting Myself Into???

Oh boy, I can’t believe I’m actually gonna post this.  Because posting it will then require me to actually be accountable for doing it instead of just thinking about doing it in my mind!!

Here goes:

I’m gonna try to start getting up an hour earlier so that I can make breakfast for and just generally be available to my husband in the mornings. {shudder}

It has occurred to me today (I have no idea why) that while I do a good job of taking care of the house and the kids, (not a perfect job, but a pretty good one), I don’t really help my husband out in the morning at all.  Okay, more accurately, I am completely unaware of his existence from the time I go to sleep at night to the time he comes home after work in the evening.  Sometimes, I am barely aware of him leaving for work.  Sometimes I feel the little peck on my cheek and hear his whispered “I love you”, but most of the time I’m blissfully unaware of anything going on around me.

I always make sure that supper is on the table and ready for him when he gets home in the evening, but I have no idea what he eats for breakfast.  Does he eat breakfast?   Does Mountain Dew count as breakfast? Probably  not.

And somehow, today I have come to the conclusion that I need to get up and start at least fixing him breakfast in the morning and maybe provide a little conversation before he takes off for a hard day’s work.

This will require me to get up at 5 am.  I almost cannot bear the thought of it.  It will also require me to not stay up til midnight watching Andy Griffith reruns.  And that’s where it really hurts, people.  But I vow to at least try.  I can watch Andy til 10, that will give me 7 hours of sleep, which is enough for me.

And I am pretty sure that this is going to totally freak Brian out.  He will probably think that someone kidnapped me in the middle of the night and replaced me with a Stepford Wife because I’m not even gonna tell him I’m doing it.

I feel that I need to do this.  That it is my wifely duty, if you will.  Don’t laugh.

I’ll keep you posted…

7 thoughts on “What Am I Getting Myself Into???

  1. lil' sis November 19, 2008 at 9:25 pm Reply

    Well good luck with that! I am sure you will do it for a day but it will never stick! But again, I say good luck!!

  2. 50s Housewife November 20, 2008 at 12:36 am Reply

    You sound like you’re about as much of a morning person as I am. 🙂 Let us know how it goes.

  3. Gretchen November 20, 2008 at 4:22 am Reply

    Oh, you are a good wife. I mean if you make the homemade breakfast sandwiches and freeze them and leave him specific instructions on how to reheat then would you feel a little less guilty and maybe still get to sleep in?

  4. Christy November 20, 2008 at 4:35 am Reply

    GOOD for you! I would do it with you, but my dh leaves at 3 a.m…so no way!!! 🙂 He IS on his own!! I hate getting up early, I don’t do mornings very well, but when I MAKE myself get out of bed early, my whole day goes better. I read once in a book (I think it was “The Power of a Praying WIfe”) a lady was praying this prayer…”Dear Lord, please give my husband a new wonderful loving wife. Let than new wife be me.”…..or something like that, basically….change in our husbands usually starts with a change in our own hearts (and actions)…so YOU GO GIRL! 😉

  5. Maggie November 20, 2008 at 1:23 pm Reply

    Girl, you’re going to spoil that man! Don’t you tell your dear uncle Steve about this. He doesn’t know that some wives get up that early.

  6. Becky November 20, 2008 at 1:56 pm Reply

    Good for you! And Brian!
    I used to fix The Captain’s lunch and all that. But at that time we left about the same time, so I just did both at the same time.
    Now, he goes to work at a different time every day. I just make sure everything is available for him and have supper for him. Other than that, he’s on his own.
    But if he wakes up late and is rushed, SOMETIMES I get up and fix things for him.
    When I didn’t work, I did all I could for him. But now that I’m back to full-time work, I have less time.
    Good luck!

  7. Kristi Smith November 22, 2008 at 4:12 am Reply

    Okay, you don’t need to answer my last comment now.

    Good for you. I wouldn’t do it. But good for you. lol

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

