The Girls’ Room

As you know, we have an old house that we are trying to fix up. When we bought the house, the girls were frightened of it. Heck, I was frightened of it. The upstairs has the really old wide plank wood floors. There are gaps and dips galore in it. And it was all painted this grayish color. Floors, celings, walls, trim – EVERYTHING was grayish greenish.

And there are only 2 bedrooms, so that meant that the girls would be crammed into a room together. Oh, good times, good times I tell ya. But when we first moved in, they were scared of sleeping in their room, so most of the time they slept with us. Well, that got old real quick, as you can imagine. So, our number one goal was to get that room all girlied up as quickly as possible.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take many before pictures of the room. I’m real bad about that! And I can’t seem to find the one or two that I did take, so you’re just gonna have to visualize the grayish greenishness, m’kay?

But here is the finished product. We’ve been here over a year and I’m just now taking pictures of their room.

101_2686

Those are peel and stick decals. Don’t even begin to think that I am talented enough to stencil or free-hand something like that on the walls! My mother-in-law bought the white wooden letters for their names.

101_2687

I just love their built in shelf/drawers!

101_2689

101_2690

Here is the afghan I made for Hannah before she was born (it’s the green and white one) and the pink one is the one that sweet mamaw made for Katie when she was born.

101_2693

Here’s Katie’s shelf with some of her trophies on it.

101_2694

This room is my favorite in the house. The house is really old, so it will never be perfect, but I’m amazed at how things like paint and a little bit of decorating can make such a huge difference!

3 thoughts on “The Girls’ Room

  1. Becky November 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm Reply

    My daughter would have loved that room when she was small.
    And yes it is amazing what a little paint can do.
    It doesn’t look 200 years old. You are more talented than you give yourself credit for!

  2. Gretchen November 11, 2008 at 10:50 pm Reply

    Their room is adorable. Can you come and help me do Makenna’s room now? I moved her into Isaac’s room and the walls are still blue.

  3. Maggie November 12, 2008 at 11:26 am Reply

    What a beautiful room! That looks like something you would see in a magazine. I especially love that little built-in dresser with the nook over it. Cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

