A Poem For My Sis

My sister requested that I put this poem I wrote for her on my blog. Actually to quote her, she said ” I would like to request that you post your poem you wrote for me. For 2 reasons really. 1-because you call me skinny in it and 2-because it is funny.”

But first a little background info. My sister is going through a very tough time right now and is under a lot of stress. The stress has caused her to lose a large amount of weight. And I wrote this poem for her to try and cheer her up a little.

And here it is…ahem…

Ode To A Skinny Sister

You are skinny
I am fat
And this is how I feel ’bout that

Though you wouldn’t choose the woe
Stress has made you skinny, yo!

My marriage it has made me fat
I blame my husband,
He’s a brat

Though I long to be thin
I love food
It makes me grin

You know I love you so, my sister
Perhaps I’ll feed you
So you don’t wither

11 thoughts on “A Poem For My Sis

  1. Little Sister November 6, 2008 at 8:45 pm Reply

    YEAH!! I love it! Thanks!!

  2. Becky November 6, 2008 at 9:33 pm Reply

    First of all, you ARE NOT fat!
    But I remember what it was like when I was skinny, thinking I was fat.
    Second, that is so sweet!
    Can I be your sister, too? I don’t eat much. tee hee

  3. Christy November 6, 2008 at 10:03 pm Reply

    My sister was just telling me this week that she’s down to her “goal” weight and wearing a size 3……..ugghhhhhh. I’m thankful it’s not because of stress, but still I’ve got to share your poem with her!!!

  4. Gretchen November 7, 2008 at 1:58 am Reply

    I will be praying for Tana. And – you better not call yourself fat, because if you are fat – what am I? Don’t answer that. Hey, I made my own poem or maybe it was a haiku. You and Julie and your poems. Love em!

  5. Maggie November 7, 2008 at 11:26 am Reply

    You two are so cute and have such a good sister relationship. I know it’s goofy, but your post made me a little misty eyed. I’m sending out hugs and prayers to Tana and hoping that times get better for her very soon.

  6. Lil November 7, 2008 at 1:54 pm Reply

    That was great. What a nice thing to do? I hope things get better for Tana. I am so glad she made you post that poem, it made me laugh today.

  7. heathermiller November 7, 2008 at 9:30 pm Reply

    Can I pretend to be a long lost adopted sister? I love to have poems written about me!

  8. […] 7, 2008 by Gretchen My cousin wrote a wonderful poem for her sister.  You can see it here.  I thought I would try my hand at poetry.  Walt Whitman I am not.   But here goes […]

  9. Kristi Smith November 9, 2008 at 12:19 am Reply

    Very cute poem. I tried to write a little poem for her myself but I couldn’t get anything to rhyme with model. 😉

  10. 50s Housewife November 11, 2008 at 3:19 am Reply

    That is so cute! But if you’re fat, I don’t even want to know what I am!

  11. […] last but not least, remember this post where I wrote a poem for my sister?  Well, she has written one to me in return, in light of my […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

