Frugal Living

Remember a few posts back when I talked about us trying to get out of debt? Well, I thought I should give an update on some of the things we’ve been doing to get us closer to to our goal.

I’ve been making a lot of stuff from scratch. Pizza, breads of various kinds, cookies, etc. Instead of buying a bag of Chips Ahoy at the store, I’m making those suckers from scratch using stuff I’ve already got in the pantry. And so far, we’ve had mixed results.

Garlic Cheese Bread – Gag me with a dead Smurf! Never EVER again.

Banana Bread – Delish! This will be a repeat in our house.

Homemade Wheat Pizza – Barf in a bucket! We must get a new recipe for that using regular white flour.

Chocolate Chip Cookies – These were just okay, I’m on the hunt for a new recipe if anyone’s got a really good one. We like ours soft and chewy. And BIG!

Snickerdoodles – Excellento! You can get the fabulous recipe here.

Pancakes – Wonderful! Enough to make IHOP jealous and so easy. 🙂

Pumpkin Bread – Divine! This is my mom’s recipe and it is the best I’ve ever had. Nothing fancy in it, just wonderfully moist and delicious.

Taco Seasoning – this one is my favorite because we eat lots of mexican dishes and again, I was able to make this with stuff I already have.

You can get the recipes, if you’re interested, on the recipe tab at the top of the page.

I think that’s about it so far. We’ve saved a lot of money by making these things at home and they taste much better than store bought stuff. Oh and I can’t forget making my own laundry detergent and cleaning supplies. This has saved us a bunch too! I’ll keep you posted on anything else I try.

7 thoughts on “Frugal Living

  1. Beckynsc October 23, 2008 at 2:15 am Reply

    Good for you! Now if the rest of us could get with the program…

  2. Gretchen October 23, 2008 at 3:45 am Reply

    Well I have the best pizza dough recipe – it is Alton Brown’s pizza dough recipe – just google it and it uses white flour. I also have an awesome chocolate chip cookie dough recipe – I think it is on my blog, but if not remind me and I will e-mail you. Great job!

  3. Becky October 23, 2008 at 2:03 pm Reply

    Hi there… do you have a link to how you made your own laundry detergent? Thanks!
    🙂 Becky

  4. Kristi Smith October 23, 2008 at 4:43 pm Reply

    I am proud of you for doing such a good job of this. I have got to learn to be more frugal, although i do enjoy cooking. I would rather make cookies than eat Chips Ahoy. 😉

    Somewhere I have a recipe for those Garlic Cheese Biscuits that taste like Red Lobster’s. yum. And I have a simple recipe for Spinach and Artichoke Dip that taste like’s Applebee’s.

    I like my choc. chip oatmeal cookies but since you said chewy, big, and didn’t mention oatmeal, not sure if they are the cookie for you!!!

  5. Chris Tallent October 23, 2008 at 9:43 pm Reply

    check out http://www.topsecretrecipes.com or search for copy cat restaurant recipes….I have used several of these…not all are exactly like the stuff you get at the restaurants…but some are pretty close…..and soooo much cheaper.

  6. Gretchen October 24, 2008 at 12:19 pm Reply

    Oh, forgot this recipe for Italian cheese bread – it is so so so so yummy:

    http://www.tammysrecipes.com/italian_cheese_bread

    Let me know if you try it and like it.

  7. […] readers, I started thinking about the blog in a different way.  For example, when I talked about Frugal Living?  Well, that wasn’t exactly something that I needed my children to remember about their […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

