Yummy Pancakes

Last night as I was tucking the girls into bed, Katie told me she wanted pancakes for breakfast. And she said “Could you make the yummy kind that you used to make? Not the yucky healthy ones?”

You see, a few weekends ago we tried whole wheat pancakes. Gag a maggot. They detested them. I detested them. But I ate them. And they ate about 3 bites because it was either eat them or starve.

And I know that this isn’t going to win me any popularity contests with the wholesome health people out there, but I think that there are some things that are just better the unhealthy way. Well, like everything really. But I do try to push healthy eating in my house, just more along the lines of fruits and vegetables. Which works out nicely because the girls both like fruits and veggies.

Pizza is another example. We tried the whole wheat pizza route and that was a huge disaster. We all ended up scraping our toppings off and eating them with a fork! So, at least where pizza and pancakes are concerned, we will stick with the old method.

And Katie told me this morning that those pancakes were the yummiest she’s ever had in her life. And she cleaned her plate, which rarely ever happens.

Here’s the simple recipe I use for pancakes. It’s super easy and uses ingredients that you probably already have on hand.

1 C. Self-rising flour (has to be self-rising)

1 C. Milk

1 egg

2 T. Veg. oil

Beat eggs, oil and milk together. Add flour and stir til combined. Heat greased skillet (I use shortening) until sprinkled water drops evaporate. Pour on batter and flip when bubbles form on top. Cook other side to a golden brown. Yum!

4 thoughts on “Yummy Pancakes

  1. Beckynsc October 3, 2008 at 1:37 am Reply

    I grew up eating buckwheat pancakes. We tried the whole wheat mix. Your right, YUCK!
    The buckwheat is much better tasting. I’m not sure about healthier. The mix is hard to find. The only way I can get it now is to order straight from the factory.

  2. Gretchen October 3, 2008 at 12:10 pm Reply

    I do agree. I try to be healthy and use healthy ingredients, but there are some things that we shouldn’t try to make healthy. Like chocolate chip cookies – don’t put wheat germ in them, just trust me on that.

  3. Christy October 3, 2008 at 9:26 pm Reply

    Those sound yummy…I’ll have to try them!! My mom has a delicious whole wheat pancake recipe, but I usually stick to the ones with white flour…just because it’s easier…if I’m going to pour all that yummy syrup on them anyway, I’m not too concerned with making them healthier. 🙂 I’m sure my kiddos will be thanking you this weekend!

  4. 50s Housewife October 4, 2008 at 12:20 am Reply

    Mine rebelled at the whole wheat pizza crust and the whole wheat banana bread, but they don’t seem to mind whole wheat pancakes…probably all that syrup on them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

