One Of The Best Things About Being A Mom…

…is moments like this one.

That’s Katie and Hannah with their cousins. Katie and 4 of her friends came up with the idea to sell buckeyes during the festival and donate the proceeds to Riley Hospital for children.

I was really proud of them for coming up with the idea, but I think I was more amused than anything at first. But as the week went on and I saw how dedicated Katie was to this, I was really impressed.

She came up with an interesting price list that offered:

1 buckeye for 25 cents.

5 buckeys for $9.

Or 3 buckeyes for $2.

It took a lot of convincing, but finally I got her to just put a nickel a piece on her sign. 🙂

I told her not to be too sad if she didn’t make a lot of money. Afterall, you can pretty much just pick buckeyes up off the ground. I just wanted to prepare her.

Every day for a week, the kids gathered buckeyes and counted them and made signs and big plans for the weekend.

Then the weekend came and my sweet daughter surprised even me. I mean, I know that she is a very sweet and considerate girl. But she is 6 and 6 year-olds can be prone to dropping boring things like sitting in a chair all day pedaling buckeyes when they are distracted by things like friends and fun, not to mention a festival up the street.

So, imagine my surprise on Saturday morning, when her friends all left after about 45 minutes of selling buckeyes to go hang out at the festival, and she decided to stay with her buckeye stand. She stayed there the entire day. My mom was having a garage sale at my house and so while her friends and her family all went to the festival, she stayed at home with my mom and sold buckeyes. I finally convinced her around 4:00 to come join us in the fun.

To say that I was proud of her doesn’t even begin to cover it.

I figured she was over it at that point, but I’ll be darned if she didn’t get up again on Sunday morning and do it again. She stayed there again most of the day by herself. Her friends never came back after Saturday morning.

I sat at the window for a little while and listened to her explain to people who were walking past our house to get to the festival that she was trying to raise money for the children’s hospital. I heard her ask several people to help her make change because she hasn’t “learned how to count money yet”. Most people told her to keep the change.

She raised $28 and some change.

This was by far my most favorite part of the whole weekend!

9 thoughts on “One Of The Best Things About Being A Mom…

  1. Christy September 29, 2008 at 3:21 pm Reply

    ahhhh…that is so sweet! We don’t have buckeyes around here (at least not that I know of!)…so we would’ve bought some from her!! How thoughtful and compassionate!!! 🙂

  2. Maggie September 29, 2008 at 6:00 pm Reply

    Aww. She is so sweet. I wish I had known she was selling buckeyes. I have been in the market for buckeyes…

  3. Beckynsc September 29, 2008 at 9:09 pm Reply

    That is definitely a determined little girl you’ve got there.
    Shoot! I’m proud of her and I haven’t met her.
    Way to go, Katie!

  4. Kristi Smith September 29, 2008 at 9:21 pm Reply

    Awww, that brought tears to my eyes!!! That is too cute and sweet. I am sure you are very proud of her, as you should be.

  5. Kristi Smith September 29, 2008 at 9:23 pm Reply

    Oh, and Nancy looks pretty cute standing in the background of the photo!!! She has a model pose going on. 😉

  6. klutzymama September 29, 2008 at 9:32 pm Reply

    Haaaaa! I never even paid attention to Nancy there in the background until you said that, Kristi! That is too funny! He looks like he should be in a Ralph Lauren ad or something with that pose. Only he needs some penny loafers, khakis and a sweater tied around his neck! ha ha ha!

  7. Kristi Smith September 29, 2008 at 11:19 pm Reply

    Yep, I think he has been workin’ that pose. I like the hand in the pocket, the lookin’ off in the distance, and whatever prop that is he is holding on to . . .

    work it, Nancy, work it. 😉

  8. Gretchen September 30, 2008 at 1:50 am Reply

    Wow, now that would be a proud mama moment! Go Katie!

  9. thecottonwife September 30, 2008 at 2:48 pm Reply

    Congrats to you and Katie! You are raising a wonderful girl!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

