I May Be The Lamest Blogger Ever…

What a great weekend we had! Would’ve been even better if I had gotten pictures.

It’s not that I forgot about the camera. Oh no, I thought of it several times. It’s just that most of the time I was either too lazy or too caught up in what I was doing to go in the house and get it. Saturday night especially, as my children and my niece and nephew were laying in the road in front of our house, watching the fireworks show, I thought “Wow. I really should walk in there and get the camera. This would be a great picture.” or as I stood on the hill and looked down on my family and friends sitting around the bonfire in the backyard, I thought “I really need to get a picture of this.” But alas, I did not. And I regret it now. I am a bad blogger. I admit it. And admitting you have a problem is the first step towards recovery, so finally on Sunday I vowed to get pictures. And I did. But only a few. I was just having too much fun!

Heritage Days is our town’s annual festival and it’s big doin’s around here. Everybody gets really into it. We live just 2 blocks from the town square, so we’re really right in the heart of all the excitement. We spend the entire weekend wandering back and forth from our house to the square, then on down to Ju’s. She lives on the same street as us, but down at the opposite end. Maybe 5 blocks away, I guess.

And she always has lots of delicious chili to feed everyone. Not to mention the ping pong table and this year we also had cornhole. We had a blast.

We started Friday night off at Julie’s. We carved pumpkins and roasted the seeds. We had a great time doing that. The girls just painted their pumpkins, but we let them get their hands all gooey when it was time to clean out our pumpkins.

Then later Friday night, we had a bonfire and weenie roast. We also ate s’mores and played a lot of cornhole. Man, too bad nobody took any pictures of that…
My sister and her kids, along with my BFF and her husband, Susie (of Nancy and Susie fame) and their daughter all spent the night. They pitched tents and slept down in the backyard.

Then Saturday morning we all hit the festival. We went down to Ju’s and ate chili til we wanted to puke and then went back to the festival and got all kinds of things for the kids that they didn’t need and will probably be lost or broken by the end of next week.

On Sunday, more of the same took place, only with a parade thrown in the mix and lots of ping pong and cornhole. More eating and buying of needful things. Oh and I didn’t do tenderloin or steak-on-a-stick. steak-on-a-stick…I don’t understand it and I don’t want to. I opted instead for a broccoli and cheese baked potato the first day and a deep fried chicken sandwich on Sunday. I also had an ice cream cone and about 78 bowls of chili somewhere in there.

There was face and leg painting.

We had a really nice weekend and now I am exhausted. The house looks like a train came through it. I probably put on 5 lbs. But it’s all worth it. And now that it’s over, normal life can resume.

Oh and here’s the new do….

What do you think? This isn’t a really good angle, I don’t think, but you get the general idea. It didn’t turn out anything like the picture I took into the beauty shop with me, but I think I like this even better. My sister says I look like Sharon Osbourne now.

I don’t think Tana and I look that much like twins anymore now that I have different hair, do you?

6 thoughts on “I May Be The Lamest Blogger Ever…

  1. Beckynsc September 29, 2008 at 11:15 am Reply

    Sounds like you had lots of fun. I probably would’ve been to busy for picture, too.
    Don’t worry, you’ll work off that extra 5 lbs. cleaning the house back up.
    Love the new do! Different. New. As long as you like, that’s what counts!

  2. Lil September 29, 2008 at 11:52 am Reply

    Sounds like a good time had by all. I love the new hair. Very trendy!!! I agree you and Tana do look much different now.

  3. Gretchen September 29, 2008 at 1:11 pm Reply

    Wow, I am so impressed. I love, love, love your new haircut. I don’t think you look like Sharon Osborne, but you and Tana don’t look like twins anymore.

  4. Kristi Smith September 29, 2008 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Cute “do”, you look waaaaaaaaaay hot! πŸ˜‰ You don’t look like Sharon, but you look like you have a Sharon “do”. It is very flattering on you.

    Sounds like you had a good time. Is your belly hurtin’? After 78 bowls of chili, either your belly is hurtin’ or the people around you are hurtin’!!! πŸ˜‰

  5. Maggie September 29, 2008 at 5:58 pm Reply

    Well, I got to see your hair in person and I love it! Of course you could get a mohawk (or a reverse mohawk like Uncle Steve) and still look beautiful.

  6. Christy September 30, 2008 at 11:40 pm Reply

    Sounds like alot of fun!!!! Very cute haircut!! It makes me want to get my hair all cut off!! πŸ™‚ and if ya did gain 5 lbs….you sure don’t look like it!!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

