Children’s Books

Does anyone know a good book to read to my kids? Actually, more so just for Katie, Hannah doesn’t pay attention unless there are pictures. I’ll continue to read the picture books for her, but I’m looking for something with several chapters, so I can read a chapter a night for Katie. We tried Anne of Green Gables, but the language was a little difficult for her to understand (she’s 6). And then we tried the Little House in the Big Woods, but it scared her.

Any suggestions out there???

Thanks!

9 thoughts on “Children’s Books

  1. Gretchen September 19, 2008 at 2:04 am Reply

    Those would have been my two favorites. I will think on it some more and get back with you.

  2. Gretchen September 19, 2008 at 2:04 am Reply

    Another option would be to e-mail Kim. I am sure she would have some good suggestions.

  3. Beckynsc September 19, 2008 at 3:37 am Reply

    Have you ever read “Bunnicula”?
    A dog is the author. So it’s told from a dog’s point of view. It’s about a rabbit found at a movie theatre. And white vegetables.
    The cat (Chester) is hilarious. He reads and is convinced that the rabbit is a vampire rabbit.
    It may be a little too much for her. Maybe not. But it is really funny.
    There is a whole series. But start with the first one.

  4. klutzymama September 19, 2008 at 9:58 am Reply

    Thanks, Becky. I’m gonna go to the library today and see if they have it. Sounds great!

  5. Christy September 19, 2008 at 1:39 pm Reply

    I LOVE the book “The Read Aloud Handbook” by Jim Trelease!!! It is FULL of titles of the very best books for kids and it gives a summary on all of them!! Here are just a few that we have loved…”Shoeshine Girl” “The Littles” (there are several of these…they are all cute) “Stone Fox” “Charlotte’s Web” (you’ve probably seen the movie but nothing compares to the book!), “The Tale of Thomas Mead”, “Chocolate Fever” “Frindle” “Help! I’m a Prisoner in the Library” “How to Be a Perfect Person in Just Three Days!” “Owls in the Family” “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” “Mr. Popper’s Penguins” “The Mouse and the Motorcycle” “Ramona the Pest” ones that my kids all LOVE is “Gooney Bird Green”…your girls will LOVE them (I think there are 2 or 3 of them)…it’s about a very eccentric little girl who loves to be herself and everyone LOVES her! We also love the Little House on the Prairie series.

    You will be amazed at how much Hannah will probably hear/pay attention without you realizing!! Have Fun reading!!!!!

  6. Christy September 19, 2008 at 1:43 pm Reply

    Another thing I loved about “The Read Aloud Handbook” is that there are good books out there, but some of them make great, fun read alouds (some are good, but boring to read out loud, ya know?)…so all of the ones listed in the book are fun and exciting to read aloud. When I was looking to buy it, I kept checking Ebay…I ended up getting it at a used book store in town, but Ebay had some great prices on it!!

  7. chris tallent September 19, 2008 at 4:04 pm Reply

    Hi…Adi likes to read Judy Moody books…there are several of them….Judy has a brother named Stink….Adi likes that. She also likes the “Ramona” books….her teacher in K & 1st grades liked the Junie B. Jones books…they are a little bit smart-mouthy for me…From the library, she likes the Henry & Mudge books…about a big dog and a boy. She liked James and the Giant Peach also…she likes to read books that have a corresponding movie…read the book first and then the movie….Adi likes to pick out the things that they didn’t get right from the book πŸ™‚ We get most of her books from Half Price Books in Greenwood. πŸ™‚ Happy REading

  8. thecottonwife September 19, 2008 at 6:09 pm Reply

    Dammit! Chris beat me to it… Ramona Quimby all the way!!!

  9. Kristi September 20, 2008 at 4:08 am Reply

    I read a Junie B. Jones book the other night and laughed out loud, really. Yes, I know it is for kids but you know i am a kid at heart.

    I just read the comment from Chris about the Junie B. books. HA! Maybe that is why I liked it. I wanted to read it to Matt but he wouldn’t have found it quite as humorous as me!!!

    I am gonna go see which one I read:

    Junie B. Jones is not a crook!

    Funny stuff. Reminds me a lot of the old Ramona books.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

