The Cool House

It is not unusual on any given night for there to be at least 8 to 10 kids at our house. Tonight was no exception. We have this big hill in our back yard that is excellent for sledding in the winter and in the summer, it’s great for riding your bike down.

When Brian and I first got married, we always said that we wanted to have a house with a pool. That way our kids would always want to stay home and have their friends over and never want to go off anywhere else to play! šŸ™‚

Well, it’s been almost 8 years since we were first married and there’s still no pool.

However, we have somehow managed to pull off having the “cool” house where all the kids gather. Which works out great for us, because we’re not real comfortable with letting the girls go to other kids’ houses to play. In fact, there’s only one house that we actually let them go to and it’s directly behind ours. The people that live there have been friends of my family’s for years and they have 4 grand daughters that are right around the ages of our girls.

It’s not that we’re over protective. Okay, well it IS that we’re over protective, but we can’t help it, we just are. I’m not saying that they’ll never be allowed to go to a friend’s house, but it will only be once we’ve thoroughly gotten to know the parents and are fully comfortable with letting that happen.

Times are different than when I was a kid. My sister and I used to run around this town all day and not come home til dark or til we were half starved, whichever came first. And it was okay then. And in all honesty, in this town, it’s probably okay now, there are kids here that do that very same thing, but mine never will. The world we live in now requires them to have constant supervision. Which is fine by me.

I’m just glad we’ve got the cool house for now.

6 thoughts on “The Cool House

  1. Gretchen September 11, 2008 at 1:35 am Reply

    I agree with you. I hope someday to have the “cool” house too.

  2. Beckynsc September 11, 2008 at 1:44 am Reply

    Too many bad people floating around. And you never know where they’ll show up. I am the same way with my kids. I don’t care what anyone thinks. I’d rather be safe than sorry!
    Oh, and my house has always been the cool house too. Thank Goodness!

  3. Kristi September 11, 2008 at 4:37 pm Reply

    Apparently, I don’t live in “the cool house” but we don’t live in town either, so I can always use that as an excuse. šŸ˜‰

    That is a cool hill.

    I have to raise my hands too when they yell, “Who is an overprotective mother?” but I don’t care either. I don’t let him ride the bus to school because he would have to ride with the high school students. No thanks.

  4. Christy September 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm Reply

    I agree with you! When we lived in town, ours was the “cool” house…I don’t know if it was because we wouldn’t let our kids go anywhere so all of the kids came to our house to play, or if it was because of the trampoline, swing set, etc. Now that we live in the country, if my kiddos want someone to play with, they go and find a farm animal šŸ™‚ !! It probably also has something to do with you being home, I think kids like to be where they know there are loving parents around. Isn’t that your husband out there in the middle of them, in that 2nd picture? I think kids love that, need that parental/adult involvement…so they go where they can get it! Good for you all!!

  5. klutzymama September 11, 2008 at 6:03 pm Reply

    Yes, Christy, that would be Brian up there in the middle of them all. He actually wanted to ride down the hill standing on the pegs of this boy’s bike! I told him no way! I could just see them crashing and Brian landing on top of the boy! You may not be able to tell from the picture, but the hill is kinda steep.

  6. kendra September 17, 2008 at 2:12 pm Reply

    Ha! My husband and I have been trying to prepare to be the “cool” house but we live out in the boonies so it has to be really enticing to get teenagers to want to spend their time and money to drive out to the country. Maybe I should have him bulldoze a big hill for us.

    We are “overly protective” parents, too. I wish more people were!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

