Every Good And Perfect Gift

Wow! I just read an amazing book. It’s called Every Good and Perfect Gift by Sharon K. Souza. My sweet Mamaw recommended it to me and I have to tell you that it was the best book I’ve read in a while.

I don’t want to give any details away in case anyone wants to read it, but let me just say that it has truly inspired me in many different ways.

I often times struggle with faith. I question everything I do and sometimes feel that it just can’t be possible for God to love someone like me with all of my baggage.

While reading this book, there were SEVERAL times where I was just reading right along and then suddenly, without warning, my eyes would fill with tears and the sobs would just come flowing out. It seemed like the scriptures (every single one of them) that were referenced in this book were put there just for my eyes to see!

When Sweet Mamaw told me to read this book, she said “It might be slow in the beginning. You might not like it, but just try it and see, I thought it was really good.”

Well, every single book that she has ever recommended to me I have loved, so I figured this would be no different. But it was different this time, in that as I got further and further into the book, I would get this feeling that I was SUPPOSED to be reading this book. And I cried out to God more than once while right in the middle of it. I just can’t say enough about it and I’m not very good at putting my thoughts into words, so I just have to say again that I highly recommend this book.

Reading this book has helped me to understand that there are often times (all the time) when I am questioning everything I do as a mother. Every decision I make and what would happen if, God forbid, I should die and the girls have to grow up without their mama. Brian would take good care of them, I know, but a girl needs her mama, ya know? And the list of insecurities goes on and on.

And what I realized from this book, and it’s something that I have known all along, but just couldn’t apply it to me (for some reason that I can’t figure out), is that I am not alone. When I am scared or nervous or uncertain about something I’m doing as a mother, or a wife, or just as plain old me, all I have to do is pray or look to God’s word or preferably both! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Every Good And Perfect Gift

  1. mamatoe September 12, 2008 at 12:37 am Reply

    It does my heart good to know that the Lord has become even more real to you-somedays are hard to bear-BUT we are never without HIM-in this world there are so many evils out there-every morning I pray for my kids and grandkids -that the Lord be all around and protect you all-trials Will come but He is always near-your sweet Mamaw did good! Love MOM

  2. Beckynsc September 12, 2008 at 1:20 am Reply

    You guys, stop! I’m fighting back tears and I don’t even have the book!

  3. Gretchen September 12, 2008 at 5:44 pm Reply

    I love this post. You ARE good at putting things into words. That was beautiful, and I am fighting back tears as well. I will have to read that book. Isn’t it wonderful that we have those wonderful Godly women in our lives (sweet Mamaw) to encourage us?

  4. Lil September 12, 2008 at 7:33 pm Reply

    I wonder those same things all the time. It gets me very emotional. Shoot I bout cried reading the blog. I am going to get that book.

  5. Christy September 13, 2008 at 6:07 pm Reply

    Thanks for recommending that book! I’ll have to get it! I just read the other day, that when we look back at our pasts or what we used to be…we should look on with “grace”, because that is the way the Lord sees us! Sometimes we get disgusted with the way we “used” to be, but the Lord doesn’t see that side anymore, all He sees is grace, forgiveness and love. I’m gonna hafta read that book! Thanks!!!

  6. Christy September 19, 2008 at 12:10 am Reply

    I just picked up this book today from the library, can’t wait to start reading it!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

