Old Park vs. New Park

Every once in a while I like to take the girls to this little park in our town…I don’t even know that I would call it a park really, it’s just a few swings, a merry-go-round and a slide, but it has been there since I was little and my sister and I used to play there sometimes.

We usually go to the nice, new, “big” park on the square, but since neither of the girls has ever been on a merry-go-round, I decided earlier this year that we would ride our bikes over there and let them try it out. They had SO much fun over there! Katie said, more than once, “This park is better than the big park, Mommy!”.

It has kind of become a special treat when we go there. It takes a little while to get there on our bikes and the nice, big park is just 2 blocks from our house, so we usually go there.

The old park has one of those big, old metal slides. You remember how awesome those metal slides were?

Dude. They were flying down that slide and off the end and it was so much fun to watch! The first time we went there, I think it was spring and I had on sweats, so you can imagine how fast I went flying down that slide. I’m sure that there’s some new age “safety” reason that the metal slides aren’t in parks anymore. My sister actually fell off the top of one when we were little, but seriously, those things rock!

I miss the old-school parks! Julie and I had this wonderful plan that we were going to travel all over Indiana this summer and find all of the old parks and play on them! And document our journey with lots of pictures, of course. But now, here it is fall and we never went to one park. How sad. What losers we are.

Oh well, maybe next summer!

One thought on “Old Park vs. New Park

  1. Beckynsc September 5, 2008 at 12:52 am Reply

    Such cute little girls!
    I agree with you about the old metal slides, they were awesome! Some things were just better left alone. Things like merry-go-rounds, and the old pencil sharpeners on the wall.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

