Old Stuff

Pictures by yellowtrailmuseum.com

Pictures by yellowtrailmuseum.com

I like old stuff. Antiques of all kinds, old buildings, old houses, old cars, old people. 🙂 If it’s old, I like it!

Our town was established in 1830. It’s old – I like it. Yesterday my dad and I went on a walking guided tour of our town and found out all kinds of neat info, most of which my dad already knew and I had no idea about! It was really fun. It was also blazing hot. I think it was in the low to mid 90’s yesterday and the sun was beating down on us. So, with the heat making me feel like a giant, oozing slug, I neglected to get any pictures. Maybe another time.

I’d like to take the tour again in the fall because I know there were a lot of things that we didn’t see or discuss because of the heat.

One item of interest that I had no idea about was the Yellow Trail. We have a neat museum on the town square called the Yellow Trail Museum. I’ve often wondered what the name meant, but never took the initiative to find out.

So, on the tour, our guide (who just happened to also be my 2nd grade teacher) told us that back in the early 1900’s, a man (who’s name escapes me right now) built a very nice brick building on the square. The building is still there. The big building was to be an auto repair shop.  He bought all of the latest and greatest equipment and tools and made a very nice shop.

There was one problem. There weren’t many cars back then and certainly not many at all in tiny Hope, Indiana. So he created some business cards and took them to all of the neighboring counties and bigger towns that said “Follow the Yellow Trail to Hope, Indiana”. Then he left a yellow trail by painting a big yellow band on trees and poles all the way back to the shop.

It became kind of popular for people to hop in the car and follow the yellow trail. And by the time that most of them made it, their automobiles would be in some kind of need of repair as there weren’t any smooth paved roads back then! I loved this story! It was probably my favorite of the whole tour.

8 thoughts on “Old Stuff

  1. Beckynsc August 26, 2008 at 1:10 am Reply

    That is very interesting. i wonder if there are any trees left with remnants of the yellow bands? I, also, like old things. I love to hear old people talk about the good old days.

  2. klutzymama August 26, 2008 at 1:26 am Reply

    Becky –
    There are a few yellow bands around some of the telephone poles coming into town that the town keeps painted…

  3. Kristi August 26, 2008 at 3:15 am Reply

    That is a cute, cool story!!! I love “some” old things too, as long as they don’t smell old (makes me sneeze). 😉

  4. Gretchen August 26, 2008 at 3:16 am Reply

    I so love little towns. I love Hope too. I can’t wait for Hope Heritage Days. It seems like the only time I ever get there. When are you going to post about Wal-mart? I am dying to read it.

  5. heathermiller August 26, 2008 at 2:48 pm Reply

    Was your tour guide/second grade teacher Barb Johnson?

  6. klutzymama August 26, 2008 at 2:50 pm Reply

    Heather,
    Yes she was. Ju told me that she is your aunt! Her name was Ms. Moore back then, though.

  7. littlesister999 August 26, 2008 at 5:46 pm Reply

    I like old cars, and antiques too. I just don’t like old people driving in old cars! Or driving in new cars for that matter!

    I know some of you are saying “How mean!!”
    Did you expect anything different from me?

    I really like this post, you need to put some more pix of Hope on here! It is such a cute little town!

  8. Christmas Of Yesteryear « Klutzy Mama December 17, 2008 at 12:54 am Reply

    […] girls got to stop in at the museum and decorate sugar […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

