Back To School Blues

Katie started back to school this week, complete with Hannah Montana backpack and Spongebob lunch box. She is now a first grader. Insert dagger into my heart here.

I did really well. I didn’t cry. Instead I opted to come home and use the World Wide Inter Web (as Monk likes to call it) to thoroughly freak myself out. You see, I often question whether or not we should have opted to home school. Some of our family members do this. And if any of you out there are saying things like “Home school kids are sheltered from the real world and don’t get any interaction with other kids…”, I have to tell you that I know for a fact that that is not the case. Home school kids have just as many friends and opportunities as public school kids. They have sports leagues and all of the things that the other kids do.

And yes, I know that we have to expose them to the harsh realities of life at some point or another, but why rush it? That’s my question.

I could go on and on about this for hours, so I will get back to the point of the post. I got on the internet and decided that I would go to My Space and see what some local teens had to say on their pages.

Why? Well because I have a daughter who will some day be a teen and I just wondered what they are up to these days. Well, I will tell you that I was completely mortified at what I found there. I won’t go in to specifics, but it was bad and I am scared.

I immediately sent a frantic email to my good ol’ aunt Ju, who is used to these kind of insane ramblings of mine by now, and told her more or less that the world was crumbling around me, the end is near, I must pack my family and move to a bomb shelter deep in the ground and would she be so kind as to send food and water on occasion.

She talked me down, as she usually does when I freak out, but it has still been bugging me all day. I don’t think I can home school. I love my kids, but I seriously lack in the patience department. I think I might be cheating them if I did it. However, I am so frightened of what they will become as teenagers. I mean, look at their mother for Pete’s sake!

I know that we are trying to raise them to be good, Christian girls, but my parents did that with me too and when I think back on the things that I did when I was younger…well it makes me cringe. I don’t expect them to be perfect and I know they will make mistakes. Why is motherhood so difficult and wonderful all at the same time?

Oh and can we just go back to the My Space thing for a moment? I had a My Space account once for about 2 months. I didn’t want to, but my best friend was going through a very bad separation with her husband and she forced persuaded me to do it so we could communicate with each other. So I told her that if she wanted to communicate with me she could call or email me at any time. But, she was in a bad, bad place at that particular point in her life and it was very important to her, so I did it. And it was pointless because every time she would post a comment on my page, I would get an email telling me to go check my page. Again I asked why she couldn’t just email me herself…

Anyway, I canceled my account not long after signing up for one.

What I know for sure is that my kids will NEVER be allowed to have an account there. Or on any of the other ones that are out there.

I know that we will continue to encourage them to make good decisions and put God first as they are growing up so fast. Meanwhile, I will be observing it all while holding my breath and peeking out of one squinted eye!

6 thoughts on “Back To School Blues

  1. Beckynsc August 14, 2008 at 2:31 am Reply

    I couldn’t agree more. This is Boo’s first year in middle school and it worries me so! He is bigger than most of the kids his age, he wears a size 12 men’s shoe, for goodness sake. And he’s only 11. He’s taller than me. Anyway, I worry he will be picked on because he is bigger. No fat, just growing boy. And the things available to them now, were unheard of when I was younger. If I could afford to stay home, I would homeschool!

  2. klutzymama August 14, 2008 at 2:35 am Reply

    Wow! A size 12!
    The homeschool thing is constantly on my mind these days. Who knows, maybe it’s in our future…

  3. Kristi August 14, 2008 at 4:28 am Reply

    ACK! My 11 year old wears a size 2 shoe and I worry about that!!! Funny, how we all worry. Okay, not funny.

    I had a weird stalker dude on My Space once. He didn’t really stalk me, just said he knew where I lived by a photo that I had of me on my deck and our house was newly built at the time. And he did know where I lived!!! And it wasn’t one of those skanky photos you see on there either!

    I will ban Cole from My Space. Lock him up forever if I find him on there!

    I have several friends that homeschool. Me? I couldn’t do it. Wouldn’t want to do it. I am not smart enough or patient enough and Cole wouldn’t listen to me as well as he would someone else! But I have friends that can do it and their kids are just fine.

    I get scared too when I think of the fact that I grew up going to church and then became a pretty rotten teenager, but I guess I came out of it okay. 😉

  4. Little Sister August 14, 2008 at 1:30 pm Reply

    Let me just say that I have lived the myspace nightmare with my 14 year old daughter. It was terrible. No one was stalking her or anything, it was the things SHE was putting on their. About a year ago I made her close her myspace account and then one night she went to stay over night with a friend and she opened another one!!! Then, months later I found out she had opened another one. She had put somethings on there that were very inappropriate. I was so scared and disappointed and angry and sad and about 100 other emotions all at once! She is never allowed on the internet again, not to mention she lost everything that was important to her. Her iPod, DVD player, DVDs, CDs, TV, you name it, we took it! I know that might seem strict but I was not taking any chances! When she did need to use the computer for school things I sat right next to her.
    She has since been allowed to have some of these things back but not everything. It was a long 6 months of being grounded!!
    The trust is the hardest thing. I don’t know when I will be able to trust her again. She is a good kid she just a bad desicion, and I know she regrets it now.

    OK enough rambling. I totally agree with you on the home school thing. If you make sure your kids are involved in activities and have friends they will be no different than the public school kids. You just get to control what they are subjected to everyday.

  5. Christy August 14, 2008 at 5:27 pm Reply

    I completely understand how you feel! We started home schooling when my oldest daughter finished 1st grade. She had a wonderful, Christian teacher for kindegarten and 1st grade…it was a good experience. I could go on and on as to why we started home schooling, but I just have to say I DIDN’T think I could do it!! I started out that first school year telling everyone, we’re just taking it a year at a time. 1/2 way into the school year, I was just taking it a DAY at a time 🙂 !! Every year after that has gotten much easier!! We always said when my oldest was a freshmen she’d go back to school (maybe Christian school, but $$$$??), but now we can’t imagine it any other way! And she (along with my others) love it! Thank you for saying that about all of the opportunities homeschoolers have!! Because so often people have this misconception of homeschooling and think those kids are always at home and don’t participate in anything. That is so far from the truth! We are SO much more active now in extra activities than we ever were before! And they have so many friends..homeschooled, and public schooled!! My youngest daughter (age, 7) does think it’s unfair that she doesn’t get a neat, new lunch box and backpack though!! I think we’re going to have to go buy her one even though she really doesn’t need them!! 🙂

  6. klutzymama August 14, 2008 at 5:30 pm Reply

    I’m definitely not ruling homeschooling out. I think that we will, like Christy’s family, take it a year at a time and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

