My Little Cow Girl

Today Katie asked me if we could get a cow. She wants to milk one. Seeing as how we won’t be having a cow any time soon, I had to tell her no. But it got me to thinking about cows and so I decided to post this poem that I found online just for her. Don’t you just love the internet?

It’s called The Cow by Robert Louis Stevenson.

The friendly cow all red and white,
I love with all my heart:
She gives me cream with all her might,
To eat with apple-tart.

She wanders lowing here and there,
And yet she cannot stray,
All in the pleasant open air,
The pleasant light of day.

And blown by the winds that pass
And wet with all the showers,
She walks among the meadow grass
And eats the meadow flowers.

9 thoughts on “My Little Cow Girl

  1. tcbrashers August 13, 2008 at 3:55 am Reply

    awww what a sweet poem!! I’m sure she loved it!! What a good momma you are!!!

    Some friends of ours have had a milk cow for a long time. They (the husband and wife) say that milking the cow together, early in the morning is a wonderful, special time for them and very romantic…hmmmm…early in the morning & milking a cow…just don’t sound like romance to me!!!

  2. klutzymama August 13, 2008 at 11:47 am Reply

    Romantic eh? Well, I’m not sure about the romantic part, but it does sound like a very sweet thing to do with your spouse! πŸ™‚

  3. Beckynsc August 13, 2008 at 11:57 am Reply

    Hey, get her a stuffed animal cow, but make sure it has udders. She can practice. haha

  4. klutzymama August 13, 2008 at 11:59 am Reply

    Hey! Good idea, Becky!

  5. Gretchen August 13, 2008 at 12:01 pm Reply

    That is a sweet poem. I’m glad you like the laundry detergent.

  6. thecottonwife August 13, 2008 at 12:42 pm Reply

    My girls want to milk a cow too! Even though we live in the country, I don’t know anyone with a milk cow, unfortunately.

    I think that’s such an out-of-left-field thing for them to want to do though! πŸ™‚

  7. Kristi August 13, 2008 at 1:52 pm Reply

    What is the big yellow and blue square for? I waited for 10 minutes for something to appear there. πŸ˜‰

    That poem is “udderly” ridiculous. Yeah, you knew someone was going to use that word, didn’t you?

  8. klutzymama August 13, 2008 at 2:11 pm Reply

    Hmmm…I don’t have a yellow & blue square when I pull it up. I will have to investigate. I love a good mystery!

  9. klutzymama August 13, 2008 at 2:14 pm Reply

    Well, I believe it to be an empty text box that appeared when I copy and pasted the poem. I have tried in vain to make it go away, but it stays…

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

