Yankee Stadium

Aside from the whole bonding with my dad thing, Yankee Stadium was the highlight of the trip! It was so very cool. I got goosebumps and even cried while there. I mean the history of that stadium! Not to mention the fact that this is the last year the Yankees will play there, I can’t tell you how thrilling it was for me to get to go before they tear it down.

Here’s the new stadium, right across the street. It’s supposed to be exactly like the old one only more updated.

And what’s even cooler is that at the 2nd ball game we went to, they had the old timers game. So, Yogi Berra was there. I WAS IN YANKEE STADIUM AT THE SAME TIME AS YOGI BERRA!!! I have to admit that I cried a wee little bit. And then there was Willie Randolph, Bucky Dent, Dave Winfield, Paul O’Neil, Tino Martinez, Ricky Henderson, Whitey Ford…just to name a few. In all there were 72 former Yankees there. It was SO AWESOME!!!!!!!

There’s Yogi.

There’s Whitey Ford.

The first game we went to, Friday night, was a dud. It wasn’t real exciting and we got beat 1-0.

Here’s my dad and uncle with their rally caps on. The rally caps failed to work any magic for the Yanks that night.

Here’s a view of the field from our seats. We had great seats.

Here’s me & my dad enjoying our stadium hot dogs! They were good!

The second game we went to was very exciting. There were 4 home runs by the Yankees. One was directly in front of us. And we came from behind to win. It was great. However, it poured buckets before the game. And we wondered if it would be canceled or delayed. My dad was so nice to offer me his cool Yankees rain jacket and he wore the ugly trash bag looking thing that my uncle bought. However, I soon discovered that his jacket was not at all rain-proof and I was soaked from head to toe while the two of them were nice and dry! My father claims to have no prior knowledge of his coat not being water-proof. I have my doubts.

But the rain did clear and the sun came out and we had beautiful weather for baseball. I even got to go to Monument Park inside the stadium and see all the cool plaques and things they had for all of the great Yankee players of the past.

The only bad thing about going to the games is having to ride the subway.

Oh my word, the subway!

I can’t describe the dirty, stinky, nasty, stifling heat of the subway. And when I tell you that we were crammed in there like sardines, I am not exaggerating at all. All I can say is that it is a good thing that my husband was not there because there was no radius of personal space whatsoever on that thing. He would not have been happy at all at having to see me squished into strange men on the subway. And there’s nothing worse than having someone’s nasty B.O. infested armpit right in your face. You have to hold on to the bars above your head and basically your face is crammed into armpits. It’s so disgusting. I never want to take the subway again. Ever. Never ever ever.

One day my dad and I got off at the wrong stop and found ourselves here. Grand Central Station. It was very pretty in there. Not like the other stops along the subway.

Here’s me & my uncle on the subway. This particular time it wasn’t so crowded. It was the only time we were on the subway that we actually had enough room around us to take a picture. Notice the oily, sweaty sheen on our faces? Well that’s because when you are standing down in the depths of the station, waiting for the train, there is no air circulation whatsoever. It is not air conditioned. No fans. Nothing but nasty heat. And that’s all I have to say about that.

4 thoughts on “Yankee Stadium

  1. Beckynsc August 11, 2008 at 3:13 am Reply

    It sounds like you had a great time while sweating your patootie off. Good memories. Except for the whole armpit thing. That smell will always haunt you.

  2. Chris Tallent August 11, 2008 at 2:18 pm Reply

    Hey! Looks like you had a great time…is that Randy? All the Teltoe boys look alike šŸ™‚

  3. klutzymama August 11, 2008 at 3:17 pm Reply

    Hey Chris! Yes, we had a super time. And you are right, that is Randy – good eye! It’s hard to tell them apart. Looking forward to seeing you on Sunday, it feels like ages since we’ve been there. Sorry we missed out on the kickball game. I bet it was a blast!

    Becky – the whole armpit in my face thing will haunt me til the day I die! Seriously!

  4. Kristi August 13, 2008 at 1:57 pm Reply

    Thanks for the “heads up” . . . I will never get on a subway now, sounds totally disgusting. I think I would feel quite claustrophobic and probably have an anxiety attack while on it. Just think if it broke down and you couldn’t get off of it. ugh.

    I hope you didn’t have to wear around wet pants the whole time at the game. I hate that.

    I am glad you got to go, a memory you will always have (including the subway).

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

