Day 2 In The Big Apple

So, the next day we got up and went back to Central Park. This park is so beautiful. And it’s huge! There is a zoo in there, softball diamonds, tons of really pretty bridges, parks for the kiddies to play on, etc. HUGE.

So, I wanted to go back the next day and take some more pictures.

On our last full day in New York, my dad and I decided to go to this little deli and get some breakfast and take it to the park and eat it. We sat on a park bench and ate and talked about how nice the park was.

This little bird flew in and stopped right in front of us. So, my dad tears off a piece of his bagel and throws it down to the little fella. And I sat there thinking, “Oh how sweet is this? Sitting in the park with my dad, feeding a bird.”
Just then another little bird flew in. So, I threw him a piece. Again thinking, “Oh how sweet…blah, blah, blah.”

The next thing we know, we are surrounded by about 50 birds. They’re everywhere! They’re all down on the ground fighting over the bread with more and more flying in every second! They’re sitting on the fence across from us staring us down with their beady little birdy eyes. I felt like I was in a Hitchcock movie.

We ditched the rest of our food and decided to move it along!

The next thing on the agenda was the Rockefeller Building and it was awesome! We went all the way to the top. They have an observation deck on the top of the building that is actually ON TOP of it. We were outside! It was so cool and I got some great pictures from there which I will post tomorrow!

8 thoughts on “Day 2 In The Big Apple

  1. Kristi August 5, 2008 at 2:21 am Reply

    In the third photo, is that your dad taking a photo of you with a blond wig on? lol Did they know you were secretly taking photos of them?

    Where are the pictures of the birds???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    I mean, seriously, you are a blogger, you should have photos of the birds!!!

    I hate that Hitchcock movie though. ugh.

  2. auntju August 5, 2008 at 2:25 am Reply

    You guys remind me of the Bird Lady on Mary Poppins! I was singing that “Feed the Birds” song the other day when you called and your mom said you were feeding birds! That also reminds me of the time on the Jersey Shore when we all told your mother not to feed the seagulls but shockingly she did it anyway and it seemed like a hundred seagulls swarmed her and followed her every move!

    I think Mike looks cool with the head shaved… he’s got kind of a Yul Brenner/Telly Savalas/Popeye look going!

  3. Beckynsc August 5, 2008 at 12:27 pm Reply

    I’ll bet that was a beautiful setting. I’d like to check out central park. I doubt that will ever happen, so I will enjoy your pictures! I am just fascinated by birds. I like to watch them while at the beach sailing, swooping, walking their bowlegged walk and such.

  4. klutzymama August 5, 2008 at 1:41 pm Reply

    I wish I would have taken more pictures in the park, Becky. It was so pretty! I really wish we would have had more time to explore it, but it is so huge and we only had so many days.

    Ju, I think daddy looks better bald too! You would have cracked up at those birds!

    Kristi – I said the same thing to my dad about not having my camera with me to get pictures of the birds. It was the last day and I was pretty much over it, so I left it in the hotel room. I’ll never make that mistake again! Oh and those people…it was so hard to take pictures there without getting people in your shot, there were people everywhere!

  5. Becky August 5, 2008 at 2:43 pm Reply

    Lol, your bird story made me giggle because I had my own run-in with pesky birds a few years ago… Here’s my post on it.

    http://stinkylemsky.typepad.com/stinkylemsky_a_child_of_t/2008/07/ugh-birds.html

    I’m so jealous of your trip! I’ve always wanted to see Central Park. I drove through Manhattan once to work a program in Pearl River, but that totally doesn’t count!
    🙂 Becky

  6. Lil August 5, 2008 at 4:36 pm Reply

    Sounds like a great time. I was thinking of you when I saw the recap on ESPN of the game. Thinking oooo Lillian was there. And I am in Indiana. : -) Loving the stories and especially the pictures.

  7. littlesister999 August 6, 2008 at 1:48 am Reply

    OH MY GOSH! I would have died if birds had been that close to me. I have to come over and see ALL the pix!
    Thanks so much for the cool shirt! I wore it yesterday and it is in the washer now so I can wear this weekend! You rock Sister!

  8. klutzymama August 6, 2008 at 1:51 am Reply

    You are welcome, sister! Yes, you need to see them all because I’m only putting a few on here.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

