So Glad To Be Home

Well, the trip was great!  I had so much fun with my dad and uncle.  But after 4 days of not seeing my husband and girls, I was ready to get back home.

Yankee stadium was by far the highlight of the trip and I will have many stories and pictures.  I’ll just have to break it up into segments because there is so much and my head is still spinning, so I will just post a few here now.

We left on Wednesday at 4 am.  And I want you to see how much luggage I took with me for my 4 day stay in New York…

Yes, that’s right folks!  ONE bag.

I am a woman.

I went to New York for 4 days.

I took ONE bag.

And I am proud!

That bag weighed about 60 lbs. and I kept waiting for the zipper to go flying off and put someone’s eye out, but it never happened and I wish you all could have seen the astonishment on the faces of my dad and uncle when they saw that I had only ONE bag.  My uncle was all prepared to attach the cargo carrier to the roof of his car for all of my luggage, but we got everything in the trunk!  🙂

We spent a lot of the trip listening to my uncle argue with his talking GPS system, whom he calls Ezza Mae.  And I have no idea if I spelled that right or not, but it was a hoot listening to the two of them argue about our route!

12 hours later we arrived at the Buckingham Hotel in downtown Manhattan.  We were right in the heart of it all.  We were within walking distance of Central Park and Times Square.  We stayed on the corner of West 57th and 6th Ave.  And so we were just a block away from the famous 5th Avenue where all of the swanky shops are.  But being as it is that I hate shopping and am tragically fashion challenged, I neglected to take any pictures of those shops or even glance in their direction as we whizzed by them on a daily basis.

However, here is the front of our hotel

And here is a view of the street from our window.

We were pretty pooped from the car ride when we got there, so we just went for a little walk through Central Park and then stopped to eat at an Irish pub.  Speaking of Irish, we met a little boy (of about 10) on the elevator as soon as we got there and he was from Ireland.   His accent was so cool!  We encountered so many people of different nationalities there.  It was a truly amazing mixture of all kinds of people.

Me & my dad at the pub.

Then we walked back to the room and I took a few snap shots on the way.  Here’s Radio City Music Hall.


More tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “So Glad To Be Home

  1. Christy August 4, 2008 at 8:39 pm Reply

    so glad you’re back!!! Thanks for sharing your pictures!!! They’re great! The view from your hotel is amazing…you were way up there!!! Welcome back!!

  2. Beckynsc August 4, 2008 at 11:12 pm Reply

    Glad you had a great trip. I like seeing pictures of places I’ve never been and probably will never go. Can’t wait to see more!

  3. Kristi August 5, 2008 at 2:18 am Reply

    One bag!!! Wow, I am impressed. I would have had at least three!

    You look hot in that tank top, and NO I don’t roll that way, just noticed. 😉

    Cute photo of you and your dad.

    On to the next blog entry . . .

  4. klutzymama August 5, 2008 at 1:37 pm Reply

    Thanks for all of the “Welcome Backs”. I am so glad to be home and ready to start catching up on everyone’s blogs!

    Kristi – thank you for commenting on my one bag! I was impressed with myself as well!

  5. MOM August 5, 2008 at 10:57 pm Reply

    I am so happy you had such a great time -there will never be another Yankee Stadium like the original one-I got tears in my eyes the first time I ever stepped foot in the House that Ruth Built-love the pics-can’t wait to see the other 996,000-love Mom

  6. littlesister999 August 6, 2008 at 1:42 am Reply

    I am glad you are back. I missed you! It was weird not talking to you a gazillion times a day!
    That picture of you and daddy is really sweet. I am sitting here with tears rolling down my face. We have the best daddy in the whole world! You are so lucky to have gotten to go with him. I can’t imagine how special that was for you two to experience that together! My turn, my turn!! =)
    Can’t wait to see the rest of the pix!

    Love ya!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

