Klutzy Mama Takes Manhattan

Well peeps, I’m out for a while.

My dad and I are going to New York!!! I am SO excited!

I have to give you the whole background story on this trip. Last summer, we planned a week long trip to New York with my family. My mother-in-law was keeping the girls for us and then we, along with my parents, and a few aunts, uncles and cousins all took a train from Indiana to Manhattan.

You see, we are all big time Yankees fans. And I mean big time. I have one uncle, of whom we seldom speak, who is an Orioles fan and well, it’s just not pretty when he comes around. Okay, so I’m exaggerating a little bit, but I mean it when I say that I was born a Yankees fan. There was no choice, it came with the umbilical cord.

So, my dad’s family makes these trips to New York all the time. They’ve gone several times over the years. However, this was to be my first trip. And Brian, he’s a newbie. He only recently converted to being a Yankees fan. He was always a Braves fan. And he’ll never admit this, but he totally switched teams because of the pressure he was feeling. My dad and his brothers can be very intimidating.

If you take nothing else away from this post, be sure to take this little piece of advice to heart: Never, NEVER, Neh heh hever! ever take a train from Indiana to New York. M’kay? NEVER DO IT! 17 hours is way too long to spend in a coach seat on a train. Anything more than 4 hours is way too long to spend on a train. I literally wanted to throw myself off at several points on the way there. It sounded so cool at the time. Take a train all the way to New York! I pictured myself in an Agatha Christie novel with murder and mayhem filling the hours as we made our way to the big city. WRONG. It was misery. Sheer misery.

Anyway, 17 hours later we arrived. We stepped out of the train station right into the heart of downtown Manhattan. And it was totally surreal. The very first thing I saw when I got off the train was a man wearing flourescent pink leggings under a jean skirt with matching fluorescent pink high heels and tank top. He had Tammy Faye Baker makeup going on and he was just strutting around like nobody’s business.

And I said to my family, “Well, we’ve arrived!”

We took a cab to the hotel. (And let me just say that taking a cab in New York is a scary, life-flashing-before-your-eyes-experience!) Once at the hotel, we checked in and then hit a little pizza joint up the street. We explored Manhattan a little that night, but it was late, and getting a little scary out, so we just went to bed.

We woke up the next morning and had a voice mail from my MIL’s best friend saying that my MIL was in the hospital and we needed to call ASAP.

My MIL and the girls had gone camping with her best friend and in the middle of the night she had a very bad seizure. They couldn’t wake her. Now, I can’t tell you how very scary this was for us and how thankful we were that the best friend was there and that the girls didn’t have to go through that ordeal alone.

At the time, we didn’t have a lot of details, just that it was a bad seizure and that she had about 3 more while at the hospital. She had never had one before in her life. We were scared. And we decided that we had to go home. My husband’s family is very small and we just felt it was best to get home as soon as we could. We got the first flight out and got home the next day.

So, the trip to New York was over pretty much as soon as it started. And I’m happy to say that, with medication, my MIL is fine now and is seizure free.

My parents decided to pay my way so I could go again this year. You see, this is the last year that Yankee Stadium will be around. They are building a new one and this is my last chance to experience all the history and greatness of the house that Ruth built!

So me, my dad and my aunt and uncle are leaving tonight. No train this time. We’re driving and it will take us only 12 hours. I am so excited!

At the same time, I’m going to miss my husband and girls. I’ve never been away from them for more than 2 days. Last night I spent most of the evening crying over them as they slept.

I’ll be back on Sunday and I’ll have lots of pictures and fun stories! See ya then!

Go Yanks!!!

4 thoughts on “Klutzy Mama Takes Manhattan

  1. Beckynsc July 29, 2008 at 12:26 pm Reply

    Sorry your first NY trip was so bad. I am praying that this one will be much, much better!
    Have a great time! See ya when ya get back!

  2. Lil July 29, 2008 at 12:56 pm Reply

    Have a great time! Drive safely! We can’t wait to hear all about it and see the pics.

  3. Christy July 29, 2008 at 8:12 pm Reply

    Oh that is just too cool…about going with your Dad!!! You all will have so much fun!! Go Yankees (although all of our whole family are big Cardinals fans…sorry we’re from Missouri!!)!! Have fun and we’ll be expecting pictures!!! 🙂

  4. Kristi Smith July 30, 2008 at 2:44 am Reply

    Hey . . . there is a fellow Cardinal’s fan!!!

    I am sure you will have a great time. Matt was jealous that his brother and cousin flew to New York to watch the Yankees in the “old” stadium.

    Can’t wait to see pics!!!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

