Surprise! You’re Old!

My dear husband is turning 40 tomorrow! I know – he’s so old and brittle and I’m so young and vibrant! πŸ™‚ Just kidding, I like to give him a hard time, you might have noticed that a time or two on this blog.

Anyway, we had a surprise party for him on Saturday. And he was totally surprised! He thought we were going over to my mom & dad’s for a cookout and then on to our friends’ house for their 2-year old’s birthday party. Only when we pulled in everyone screamed SURPRISE!!! And he looked at me and said “What did you do?”
It was great!

I have been planning it since the first of the year and I had LOTS of help! His mom furnished the food, our friend, Larry, furnished the beverage, my parents furnished the location, and lots of friends and family members helped in other various ways. So THANK YOU all!

We had such a good time. So I shall leave you with some pictures of how much fun we had…and let me just warn you…there are a lot of them!

Here, Brian is checking out the posters that his mom and I made with all of his old pictures…

Nancy & Susie

The kids

Some of my lovely family members

Me & my cute-as-can-be Uncle Ricky

Some old guy sitting next to two young ladies

Mom & Tommy

Brian & his mama

My BFF and my daddy

My brother-in-law and my step-son

Moo & Nancy – so cute in their matching shirts!

Brian and his comb-over hat

Me & my peeps

Okay – I have saved the two best pictures for last! First we have my mother. Standing up in the back of a moving jeep. Not just a moving jeep, but a moving jeep being driven by her sister and my biking partner, Julie. Julie is doing everything she possibly can to Throw Mama From The Jeep! It was a hoot! I can’t believe she didn’t fly out!

And the last one will require a little background information first. My friends and I like to take “Senior Pictures” whenever we get together. You know those cheesy things we all had to go through in high school. We try to reenact them as best we can. (I will have to post some of our finer ones sometime)

Remember when it was really cool to have just your silhouette? One of you smiling and one of you with a very somber, serious look on your face. Usually taken in the dark with just a hint of light on your face. Well, I give you our version…

We figured that we looked enough alike to pull that off as the same person! What do you think?

Whoever came up with that silhouette shot was nothing short of a genius. I mean on the one side you have the happy-go-lucky face, looking forward to your future and endless possibilities that await you. And then on the other you have the serious shot, where you are pondering all of the memories of your youth and meditate on your first steps into adulthood. Magical.

3 thoughts on “Surprise! You’re Old!

  1. Beckynsc July 3, 2008 at 12:40 pm Reply

    Happy Belated Birthday, Nancy (I mean, Brian)! Loved the Nancy/Susie story.
    Looks like he and everyone else had a good time. Poor Mom in the Jeep.
    You two look alike, but not enough for the silouette pic. Hahaha

  2. notafarmgirl July 3, 2008 at 3:57 pm Reply

    Why was she trying to kill your mother?

    Looks like Brian had a great day!!!

    Love the last photo. I will have to remember that one. It reminds me of this re-enactment Kendra and I did:
    http://randomactsofgoofiness.typepad.com/random_acts_of_goofiness/2007/07/she-was-here-an.html

    I think I will have to do a re-enactment of your senior photo sometime. But I don’t have anyone that looks like me to do it with. ;(

  3. Becky July 3, 2008 at 5:03 pm Reply

    LOL – I LOVE the idea of doing Senior Pictures – too funny! It looks like you guys had a great time.
    πŸ™‚ Becky
    http://www.stinkylemsky.typepad.com/

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

