It Came As No Surprise…

We wrecked tonight. My beautiful purple bike has been through a terrible flood and survived. Sure, she only has one working break and is stuck in the hardest gear setting, but she was making it. But now, after tonight, she can no longer stand. Her kickstand has been obliterated and she must lay down. Where’s the dignity in that, I ask you?

We were on the last leg of our nightly ride and we had just passed my house and Julie was all “blah-blah-blah” about something and I said “Left”. (Cuz I’m the leader and that’s what I do.) Yeah well, only she didn’t hear me because as I said, she was all “blah-blah-blahbitty-blah.” So I made a left and she didn’t and our bikes tangled. We screamed and hobbled and wobbled and somehow we both managed to stay on our feet. Of course there were two teenagers standing to the side of the road giggling uncontrollably at us. I said to them, “Hi! We wrecked.” Which sent them into fits of laughter. Teenagers…

Anyway, as I said we were directly in front of my house and I looked up just in time to see the living room curtains fly open and two little heads pop up in the window. The girls came running out to see what all the commotion was. And when I say “the girls”, I’m not including Nancy. Do you think he even bothered to get up and see if we were okay? NO HE DID NOT! He’s real sweet and caring like that. Even after Katie screamed “Mommy and Ju Ju just wrecked!” Butt still firmly planted on the couch. Now that’s love.

I think Julie’s bike is okay. Her chain came off, but we didn’t see any other real damage.

I’m actually surprised that this hasn’t happened before now. And really, really surprised that we were able to stay upright!

9 thoughts on “It Came As No Surprise…

  1. Beckynsc July 1, 2008 at 12:05 pm Reply

    Sorry about the bike. Glad you two are okay! Husbands spring into action if there’s a rescue mission needed. Otherwise they figure we can take care of ourself. My husband is so scared I’ll wreck that he stays beside me while riding. I’ve never wrecked before. I guess I don’t look so steady on the bike. Or could it be he just likes being in my presence. Of course, that’s it. What was I thinking?

  2. Kelsey July 1, 2008 at 4:10 pm Reply

    So glad your ok and im sorry about the bike!

  3. Kristi Smith July 1, 2008 at 5:43 pm Reply

    Maybe you can get a new cool bike like Julie’s. 😉

  4. klutzymama July 1, 2008 at 6:03 pm Reply

    Oh nice, Kristi – doggin’ on my bike! And I thought you were my home slice and everything! 🙂

  5. Kristi Smith July 1, 2008 at 7:06 pm Reply

    just keepin’ it real

  6. Little Sister July 1, 2008 at 8:23 pm Reply

    PLease get one of those really old looking bikes with the bid seat and wide handle bars, and a basket on the front oh and a ringy bell. Ya know those old ones that sounded like thin pieces of metal clanging (i think I just made up a word) together. That would be a serious throw back! Do it! Do it! You could get a bonnet to wear while riding!

  7. fromthefrontporch July 1, 2008 at 8:37 pm Reply

    That is hilarious! Unfortunately….I can relate! My dh…is not too sympathetic like that! But…now…if he would fall off a bike, there would be moaning and groaning for days!

  8. klutzymama July 1, 2008 at 9:28 pm Reply

    That is precisely the kind of bike I want!

  9. […] can read about more of our fun stories here, here and here.  Oh and let’s not forget the amazing feat that she pulled off […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

