Just For You, Kristi

Nicknames are funny right?

Kristi got me to thinking about them yesterday…

The other day we were at the grocery store and Hannah was running around like a wild maniac and I yelled “Nanner! Get back here!”
This lady looked at me and said “Nanner? That’s an interesting name.”
So, I had to tell her that Nanner was just the nickname, but the poor girl, we never call her Hannah, she probably doesn’t even know her real name!

I don’t really know how we came up with Nanner…we’ve just always called her that from the time she was born. I think in the beginning she was actually Hanner Nanner, then we shortened it later to Nanner. Sometimes we even spice it up and call her Nanner Nino or Nanner Nunu.

Katie’s is pretty common…Katie Bug or sometimes just Bug. I think all of the Katie’s out there probably get called Katie Bug.

Julie is Ju Ju or Aunt Ju. But I like to call her JuBacca, as we both have a love for Star Wars. Her friends call her Jules. I think Mamaw & Papaw actually called her Julie Bug or just Bug on occasion. Lots of bugs out there.

Tana. She got the ol’ Tana Banana nickname. Not to be confused with Anna Banana. And rumor has it that her husband calls her Princess, but I just can’t really wrap my brain around that one at this time. I mean princesses are all sweety sweet and nicey nice, right? Sister, I love ya and all but you are SO not that! Ice Princess. Now that I can see! Wink! You know I love you!

Me. I’ve had quite a few. My dad always calls me (and Tana) Bub. Which turned into Bubber, Bubbinator and Bubbalubbashama, every now and then. But he used to call me Amos and Face. Face always cracked me up. I think I shall tell him that he needs to switch it up and throw Face in there every once in a while for a little variety. Me & my friend Misty call each other Lillian. My best friend and I call each other Moo and have for 16 years. It’s a long story that you probably wouldn’t find the least bit interesting. But we are Moo to each other and sometimes even Moo Mesa if one or the other is being scolded. Her dad, he was so awesome – I miss him ALOT – always called me Sugar or Shoogie or Shoog.

Brian is Nancy, of course, but he is also known as BT or Hound Dog. That Hound Dog thing was before my time, so I usually stick with “Honey” or “Nancy”.

My niece, Maryka, is Maryka Ronnie Roo.

Oh and here’s a cute one. My mom and dad were known as Mouse and Mrs. Mouse in high school! Love that!

I love nicknames. All of my pets get nicknames. I once had a dog named Sparky. We called him Sparkarelly and Sparky Delgado and Spartikus Maximus. Then there was our dog, Big Papa, who we called Big Booba Chooba or Big Papa Pump. Willie Nelson is Will or William sometimes and sometimes he is Willie Bob Thornton or Willie Mo Pena.

And Buster, he’s Bust, Bub, Bustarelly, Busta Rhymes, and Buster Douglas.

So, now I’m curious, what’s your all’s nicknames?

11 thoughts on “Just For You, Kristi

  1. Little Sister June 20, 2008 at 3:14 pm Reply

    I LOVE THIS POST!! Well you pretty much covered the nicknames. Although you forgot the best one of all “Sister!!” Here is one for Madie -Madeline Bodine and Maryka’s fave Pudgy. Mason is sometimes Mase the Ace and Jansen most recently was given Papa Spanks. Maryka gave him that one. I am sure Jansen would agree to the Ice Princess thing but I am just not seeing it. You didn’t even begin to touch the old softball days nicknames! Oh and I almost forgot Pacino Bambino.
    Signing off now- sincerely Tanabell πŸ˜‰

  2. klutzymama June 20, 2008 at 3:32 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness yes! I have forgotten a lot of them! How about Maddy BOMBaladdy. And let’s not forget that Jansen is Preston or Johansen!!

  3. Kristi Smith June 21, 2008 at 4:48 am Reply

    I don’t have one. Could you give me one? lol

    I have been Hair, Honeybabe, Girly Girl, Krispy . . . that is all I can think of.

    I call my dog T-boner. I know it is not appropriate so I don’t say it around my son. πŸ˜‰ But his name is T-Bone and sometimes I just yell out “T-boner”. Not to be inappropriate, but “just because”.

    My hubby doesn’t have a nickname.

    I call my son Bud, Buddy, Cole-Man, Cole. . . his name is Coleman.

    Nothing too interesting.

    How in the world do you remember all those nicknames?

  4. klutzymama June 21, 2008 at 7:07 am Reply

    Hair! Love it. So your Hair and I’m Face. I wonder if there are people out there that go by Arm or Foot.

    I don’t know how I can remember them all, there are a bunch I didn’t even put on here, like when I played fast pitch in high school and we all came up with “old lady” nicknames for each other. Mine was Lula. Actually we had to have an old lady first name, a guy’s middle name, and a random last name, so I was Lula Ralph Curtain. But my favorite was the girl who chose Eunice Bob. Man, I was so jealous of that name…Eunice Bob Nelson. We even divided ourselves into families. So my sister (not my real sister) was Lurlene Ed Curtain and then Eunice she had a sister named Twilla Moses Nelson. I can’t remember what my real sister’s name was…

    What on earth was the matter with us?

    How sad, your hubby doesn’t have a nickname. He could be Knee. πŸ™‚

  5. thecottonwife June 23, 2008 at 1:00 pm Reply

    I’m not sure my husband knows my name – I’m always just “Sugar”.

    My husband is Keith and some of the daycare kids can’t say it so now he’s Kiki to EVERYONE. If you’ve seen pics, he’s sooooo not a KiKi but he doesn’t seem to mind.

  6. Becky June 23, 2008 at 4:47 pm Reply

    Hello. πŸ™‚ I just wanted to stop by and say thanks for visiting my blog!

    I actually don’t have any fun nicknames for myself, but if I someday have a daughter I would love to name her Charlotte and call her Charlie. πŸ™‚

    Oh, and all babies pretty much get called “Stinky Lemsky” (hence the name of my blog – which I got from the movie “Girls just want to have fun”)
    πŸ™‚ Becky
    http://www.stinkylemsky.typepad.com/

  7. littlesisiter999 June 23, 2008 at 6:23 pm Reply

    Well since Hair brought up her Sugar nickname I had to comment. I just got a new puppy on Friday and I named her Sugar. So her nicknames have already been flying around our house. Sugar Cube, Sugar Britches, Sugar Bear, and Pour some Sugar on me!(We haven’t been using that one but Jansen did mention it!) LOL!! I don’t remeber my softball name, I think I didn’t have one. You guys always just called me Tanabell.

  8. littlesister999 June 23, 2008 at 6:27 pm Reply

    OK Sister of this subject, I logged into WordPress and then opened another internet window and went to your blog page and it let me comment and my avatar is back. Man this stuff is weird!

  9. MistyDerringer June 27, 2008 at 3:41 pm Reply

    I don’t have any nicknames either other Lillian. Emma we just call Em. Name dogs are a different story. Roxy is Roxy Foxy. (Emma thinks that is her middle name now). Our new puppy Annie, well of course she is Annie Pannie or Fanny Annie.

  10. MOM June 28, 2008 at 1:43 am Reply

    When I was a little girl I was called Shercum-some of the boys used to call me Macanac bridge I guess cause my maiden name is McNamee-lol-also when I played softball-Mama Toe-and Tiltoe by my friend Angie Roberts-Tppy Toes by another friend-when Mike and I were dating they called him Mouse so naturally I was called Mrs. Mouse-Daddy says he was called Teetle and Telly in school-his bros & sisters call him Mikey D.-my brother Steve calls him Mick-his co-workers at Toyota call him Papaw and 2 Toes-lol-nicknames are neat-Amee do you remember that I called you AmeeWee?Daddy says we called Tana-Tana RoseannaDanna-I remember Tana Banana-see ya-

  11. Little Sister July 2, 2008 at 1:45 pm Reply

    I just saw Mom’s comment. Steve calling Daddy Mick is funny. I forgot about Tana Roseanna Danna. Mamaw always called me Tana Banana. Papaw is Buck, Tim is Bone, Mark is Bo-Jack or more recently Low-Jack, Jansen has OJ and Juice from his old friends. Oh and I wanted to correct you on Madie BOOM-balady! Again, I love this post! Oh heck, I love all your posts!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

