The Flood


First off, I want to say a big THANK YOU to all of our family, friends, neighbors and complete strangers who helped us deal with our flood issues with gifts of money, water, food, manual labor, loaning of vehicles (one friend actually bought a vehicle for us so we could get around), giving us a place to live, etc.

We lost both of our vehicles, our furnace and A/C, washer & dryer, and countless personal items. That being said, we were the lucky ones. Two people in our town died and tons of others in the neighboring town lost EVERYTHING. There hasn’t been a flood like this here since 1913! It was unbelievable.

This all happened on Saturday morning and we are just now getting our water turned back on today. We’ve pretty much got most of the mess cleaned up, so we are trying to return to normal now.

Here are some pictures of what happened to us:

Here’s all of our stuff floating around in the basement.


Here’s Brian’s car sitting in the driveway being consumed by water.

Here’s our washer & dryer, believe it or not, the water actually got even higher than this!

Here’s my car sitting in the garage.

My poor bike!

Here’s what the basement looked like after the water went down.

And here are all of our things laying out in the sun to dry.

12 thoughts on “The Flood

  1. thecottonwife June 13, 2008 at 12:10 pm Reply

    Oh my Gosh – how scary!

    I am so glad you are all ok!!

  2. klutzymama June 13, 2008 at 1:56 pm Reply

    Thank you Cotton Wife!

  3. Little Sister June 13, 2008 at 5:51 pm Reply

    I am so sorry you had to go through all of this. I love you very much! I thank God none of you were hurt.

    PS- Have fun sporting the Mini-Van. You are the hottest soccer mom I have ever seen. Rock it out!

  4. klutzymama June 14, 2008 at 12:29 am Reply

    Thank you sister, you were such a big help to us and we appreciate it so much! I’ve named the mini van the Red Bullet!

  5. Kristi Smith June 14, 2008 at 1:03 am Reply

    OHMYGOODNESS! That is horrible!!! I am SO sorry that I am just now reading this!!! Will the house be fine once it dries out? Did a levee break or something? It looks as if you didn’t have time to react to the water coming! I had no clue that the floods were so bad. We have been getting tons of rain and they are building up the levees here. Cole filled sandbags today at summer school. Hugs to you and your family.

  6. klutzymama June 14, 2008 at 2:02 am Reply

    Thank you Kristi. There was a dam that broke up north of us and there were heavy rains on top of that. I’ve never seen water move so fast like that, we had basically no time to react or try to save anything. The basement is all dried out now, but still has a horrible smell. We were able to save some of our stuff, but lost some too, but like I said we are lucky compared to so many others who lost their houses and everything in them. Thanks for your kind words. I hope you guys don’t have anything like this where you are!

  7. Gretchen June 14, 2008 at 2:05 am Reply

    That is truly awful! I heard the stories, but seeing the pictures just makes it that much more unbelievable. God was definitely watching out for you and your family. Please, please, please let me know what I can do to help! And, I love mini vans (maybe not love, but I love that they have a ton of room). We hope to get one someday. You will definitely be the cutest soccer mom driving one!

  8. klutzymama June 14, 2008 at 2:17 am Reply

    Thank you Gretch! We really are almost back to normal. We’ve been so fortunate to have so many people helping us, we are so thankful!

  9. Kristi Smith June 14, 2008 at 3:56 pm Reply

    Wow, I just can’t imagine. Hannibal is a river town (right on the Mississippi River), but we live far enough away that our house would not be affected. But there are lots of businesses right off the river and I they have already closed the levee walls (I think that is what they are called), so some businesses have already shut down. It is sunny today though. Thankgoodness.

    Glad you have so many that have helped you. I know this is a hard time for you all.

  10. The Headless Scarecrow « Klutzy Mama October 16, 2008 at 10:58 pm Reply

    […] before you go being all judgmental on my scarecrow, remember that he’s survived a flood. He was floating around down in the basement when we pulled him out, so try to have a little […]

  11. Gone Fishin’ « Klutzy Mama July 29, 2009 at 8:09 pm Reply

    […] I need to mention here that my fishing pole along with all of my fishing stuff was ruined in the flood last summer, so my uncle Randy was so kind as to let us borrow some of his poles.  I had a problem […]

  12. Summer Picnic « Klutzy Mama June 25, 2010 at 9:01 pm Reply

    […] my cutie patootie picnic basket that my Aunt T bought for me many moons ago, but it was ruined in the flood, like so many other things.  I really miss that picnic […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

