Tornado!

Well, what started out as a warm, lazy, rainy spring day turned into a very frightening night for the girls.

Here’s Hannah this morning, ready for the rain!

And here’s Katie…she’s in total denial that we are NOT actually going to the pool again today.

So, after I put the girls in bed tonight, I decided to take the dogs for a walk and Brian says “You’re not thinking of walking right now are you?”

“Yes, why?”

“Uh, because there’s tornadoes!”

Now, I have to tell you that Brian and I always tend to butt heads over storms. He has a tendency to overreact and I am a big time under-reacter. I don’t know why, but tornadoes do not terrify me. I know that they should, I know how deadly they are, but I’m just never scared of them. Even tonight as the tornado sirens were going off and we were huddled in the basement…totally not scared. I’m tough like that. 🙂

But it’s funny to me, how often I forget the way children’s mind’s work. When I got the girls up out of bed and said “Let’s go to the basement, girls! There’s a tornado”, Hannah looked at me with sheer terror in her eyes and said “What’s tornado? Is it a monster coming to get us?”. I had forgotten that the last time that we were all hunkered down in storm mode, she was too young to remember it now.

So down we went, with the camel crickets and lizards into the dungeon. But we were fine. The sky was all crazy looking and it got real quiet, but nothing more than a bad storm, so we were lucky.

7 thoughts on “Tornado!

  1. Gretchen June 5, 2008 at 2:01 am Reply

    I am with you. For some reason, I am never scared of storms or tornadoes. But I am afraid of scary basements!

  2. klutzymama June 5, 2008 at 2:55 am Reply

    Yes, the basement was much more scary to me than the storm!

  3. auntju June 5, 2008 at 4:22 am Reply

    That reminds me of the time we had a tornado and I put on my huge cowboys coat, cinched my hood so tight that I could just barely breathe and see out, put the cat up my sleeve, got my gloves on, and pulled Jack down the stairs to the cellar, otherwise known as the “camel cricket condos and leisure village”! I just felt thousands of cricket eyes watching me…and waiting…always waiting. Curse you camel crickets!

  4. klutzymama June 5, 2008 at 4:29 am Reply

    Ju, your comment just made me have outburst laughter! Which actually sounded kind of scary because it’s 12:30 am and everyone’s asleep and the house is completely quiet. The visual I got of you and Jack in the cellar…and with a cat up your sleeve! Ha ha hee!

  5. heathermiller June 5, 2008 at 12:19 pm Reply

    Does Brian want to borrow our helmets?

  6. klutzymama June 5, 2008 at 12:36 pm Reply

    Ha ha! He would probably take you up on that, if not for the fact that he has recently discovered a love for Katie’s Polly Pocket bike helmet! (picture coming in tomorrow’s post)

  7. thecottonwife June 5, 2008 at 6:04 pm Reply

    I keep a little boy who calls them Big Tomatoes. 🙂

Leave a comment

It’s a Mom Thing

Cloth diapers

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.