Happy Mama’s Day!

When I started this post, it was originally going to be about Katie and this old teddy bear of mine that I gave her. But as I was telling the story to her, it became clear to me that I needed to share the story in a different light.

When Tana and I were little, Care Bears were the huge thing. We loved them so much (still do!). However, we was po! Seriously, we were and my mom and dad couldn’t afford to go out and buy them for us. So, my mother had someone that she knew make them for us. Mine was Tender Heart Bear and Tana’s was Grumpy (how appropriate!) 🙂

Anywho, at the time, I don’t think that we knew that these weren’t real Care Bears. My mom’s friend even went so far as to sew the little hearts on their bums for us. And if we did know, I don’t think that it bothered us because we were just so happy to have them.

I’m sure at that young age, we didn’t really grasp the sweetness of these bears being made for us, but at some point I did because I still have it today and as far as I know, Tana still has hers. I gave mine to Katie last year and told her that she had to take good care of it because it’s really special to mommy.

So last night, Katie was sleeping with us, and she brought Tender Heart Bear to bed with her. She asked me to tell her the story about my bear again because it’s “very, very, very special” to her. So, as I was telling her the story, I started to get all emotional because it kinda hit me all at once that Tana and I used to be my mom and dad’s little babies and all of the things that I am feeling and going through as a mother today are feelings that they once had for us. Not that they don’t still have them for us, but we’re all grown up now, so it’s hard to imagine that my parents were ever young and dumb like me!

After I finished the story, Katie says “Mommy, that story makes me feel like I have a rock in my throat and gets my eyes all full of water…”

Well, let’s just say that she has a touch of her mother in her because as some of you may know, I’ve been known to cry over dog food commercials. Or when Godzilla dies. Or when someone holds a door open for me in public. Okay, that last one was a lie, but the others are true! I’m kinda emotional.

So, Mom, if you’re reading this, thank you so much for my Care Bear…I cherish it still today! And thank you for all that you do and have done for me and my family. I know I don’t tell you near enough, but I love you, Mama Toe!

Here’s a picture of the Care Bear on Katie’s Bed, where she always keeps it

And upon closer examination, you can see that Tender Heart is a little worse for wear with his heart peeling off, one eye missing and frazzled hair, but Katie loves it and so do I!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mamas out there!

4 thoughts on “Happy Mama’s Day!

  1. auntju May 9, 2008 at 3:59 am Reply

    Who was the lady that made those for you guys? Do I know her? Did you two get to pick which Care Bear you got or did Sherrie choose them for you, because Grumpy and Tenderheart are so perfect for you guys as kids!

  2. klutzymama May 9, 2008 at 11:30 am Reply

    The answer to your questions is I don’t know. I’ll have to ask Mom. But yeah, they were pretty good matches. I’d also love to know who made them, so I’ll have to find out. Hey! Your avatar is back!

  3. MOM May 9, 2008 at 10:26 pm Reply

    It was very touching to read that about you two and your Care Bears! I cannot remember who the lady was-I just wanted you both to have one so bad! Also I believe that you both picked out those exact bears-I actually remember that-and they fit so well-I wish I had something left of my childhood-I had a few snoopies but I don’t know where they went-anyway-I cried when I read it-thanks for those memories-Love MOM

  4. littlesister999 May 9, 2008 at 11:04 pm Reply

    Well, I do still have mine. One of his legs almost ripped off but it has been sewn back on with hot pink thread! I love my Care Bear so much. I will keep it forever! As a matter of fact it has been passed down to Madeline. As far as the grumpy bear thing goes I am sure it was fitting for my childhood after the stories Mom has told me! Heck it is fitting for my adult years too! I love ya Mom, for getting us Care Bears even when we didn’t have the $ for them! Had you gotten us the real thing it might not mean so much to us now, ya know?! This story is very touching! Brought a tear to my eye! And I never cry about these kinds of things. I am not a big softy like my big sis! And I can testify to her sappiness. Remeber when Godzilla got tricked into going into the firey pit? YEP you guessed it! Her eyes were welling!
    Love ya Mom and Big Sis!! Happy Mother’s Days to the 2 best moms out there!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

