Today I Feel….a little peeved!

This little gem has been bugging me ever since I stopped at the grocery store yesterday, so I decided it needed to be posted. If for no other reason than to see if anyone else feels the same as me. Am I crazy or are the other people out there the crazy ones?

Anyway, so me & Nanner are at Kroger yesterday and I see this lady that I recognize from the PTO at the school. I don’t know her name, have only really spoken to her to say Hi a couple of times. So, we’re kinda stuck together in the same area and I hear her asking her little girl, who looks to be about 4, how many buns are in the package. And the little girl is counting and the mama is praising and it was all just so very sweet. Now, I could’ve started asking Hannah to display her smarts too, but you see, I was still reeling from the dog washing adventure, so I just didn’t have it in me to try to one-up this mom. Besides, if I had asked her to count the buns, she probably would’ve answered something like “yellow” and totally embarrassed me.
So then, the little girl points out some white bread and says “Mommy, can we PLEASE get this kind of bread?”
Well, the mom looks at her, horrified, and says, “No we CANNOT! You have never had this kind of bread in your life and you never will! You just want it because you’ve seen other kids eating it or something. Why would you even want to have this kind of bread when you’ve never even tried it?!”
I was like “woah lady, simmer yourself!” (to myself of course, I hate confrontation and would never actually say that to a complete stranger – unless you are the lady who was rude to my little girl at the fair last year, and that is one time that I definitely yelled at a stranger, but that’s another story).
Why was this such a big deal about the white bread? I mean if you plugged marijuana in for the word bread, it sounds like a believable conversation, but the little girl just wants to try some white bread. For mercy’s sake, why Lady? Why must you be such a Snooty McBooty?
But then, to make matters worse another mom who was standing nearby started laughing and she says “Oh I know! This white bread thing! My son asked me the other night if he could have a peanut butter & jelly on white bread for dessert!”
Now I’m sorry, but that’s just sad. The children of America are begging for white bread! I just wanted to walk over and rip open a package of bright white Wonder bread and hand a piece to that little girl and point my finger in her mama’s face and say “Shame on you lady!”
Wow! Is this what we’ve come to? A conversation about white vs. wheat leads me to want to destroy fresh baked goods and throw down with another mother in the name of justice? Denying our children the splendor that is fresh, white bread? I mean, we all know how wonderful a PB&J is on fresh white bread, don’t we? And this woman’s poor little boy is asking to have something that should, in my humble opinion, be a part of his everyday life for dessert because he knows there’s no way he’s getting it otherwise! So sad.

Don’t get me wrong now, I’m all about healthy eating (most of the time), I even eat wheat bread myself, but my kids? They eat the white. Why? Because they like it better and I’m sorry, but what’s so wrong with that? I’m also all about trying to let my kids be kids and part of that is allowing them the rite of passage that is eating white bread. Call me radical!
What a world we live in today! Those are the kinds of kids whose parents probably go through and take all of their Halloween candy and throw it out leaving only the oranges and apples! No, scratch that! They probably don’t let them even have the fruit unless it’s organic! Poor kids!

4 thoughts on “Today I Feel….a little peeved!

  1. Little Sister May 2, 2008 at 7:09 pm Reply

    Actually those kids probably don’t even get to go trick or treating! So sad! My kids don’t ask for wheat but I offer it to them. Usually they say “no I want white”, but I don’t force them to eat the wheat! White bread with PB&J for dessert?? That should be child abuse. Dessert should be sugary, sweet, fattening, yummy etc…As if these moms never had white bread or a yummy dessert for that matter!

  2. klutzymama May 2, 2008 at 7:12 pm Reply

    I know! It’s crazy!

  3. Gretchen May 4, 2008 at 6:10 pm Reply

    I am with you. I too try to eat whole wheat bread and that is the only kind I buy. But to be horrified that your child would even ask that, well, she may not have it at your house, but if you deny her the bread – she will have it at her friend’s house anyway eventually! Also, she should have tried Wonder Made With Whole Grain White bread. It’s delicious and it’s made with whole wheat – there you go problem solved! And, I love your blog!

  4. Kristi Smith May 22, 2008 at 4:23 am Reply

    I have a huge smile on my face and I really did laugh out loud, esp. at the “yellow”. We eat wheat bread but we always ate white bread as kids and if Cole asked for white bread, by gosh, he would get it. Too funny.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

