The House (STILL) Divided

You may remember this post, where I told about how Brian is a Kentucky fan and I am an IU fan.  I do not exaggerate when I say that we cannot stand each other when our teams are playing each other.  Maybe you think I’m kidding, but I am not.

Ridiculous?  Yes.

Immature?  Absolutely.

Stupid?  You bet.

Doesn’t make it any less true.  Earlier this year when IU beat Kentucky, we were at my parents house with the rest of my dad’s family for a Christmas get together.  What that means is that Brian was trapped in a house full of MANY IU fans.  And I know I’ve told you that my family is relentless when it comes to teasing & joking, so as you can imagine, it was a pretty rough environment for Brian.

Sadly, that is also the day that Nanner transferred her loyalty from IU to Kentucky.  She felt sorry for her daddy because everyone was picking on him.  I can hear you all now, you’re all going, “Awww, how sweet.”

Well, do you wanna know what I’m sayin’?  I’m sayin’, “WEAK!”

In case you missed it, here’s a short video of the shot that gave me one of the best moments of my life.

Anyway, if you follow basketball, then you know that Kentucky beat us in the tourney.  It’s a night I’d soon like to forget.  Brian & I get so ugly.  He hates me, I hate him.  We go right back to loving each other the next day, but I can barely stand to look at him during the game and I know he feels the same about me.  Sad but true, folks…sad, but true.

Well, my sadness soon turned to gladness when I got this video of Nanner the other day.  Her face at the end, when I tell her I’m gonna show her Daddy the video and she realizes that her mother is ruthless, is nothing short of priceless.  She may be a little hard to understand, so let me explain.  There is a common cheer among Hoosier fans that very simply goes:  HOO! HOO! HOO! HOOSIERS!

So the other day, Katie comes up & whispers, “Hannah is running around yelling the Hoosiers cheer & she’s supposed to be a Kentucky fan now.”

So, I couldn’t resist, I grabbed the camera & tricked her into doing it for me by telling her how funny it would be.  Yeah, I tricked her.  Mother of the Year, I know.  There’s not really a level I won’t stoop to in order to pull a good joke on someone.  Especially my husband.  Try not to judge me.

e

It’s all going to be so worth it when Brian sees this video on my blog.  BWAAHAAHAAA!!

Yes, Brian – your Wildcats may have won the NCAA Championship, but at least I will always have the above video and also the image below in my mind to bring me comfort. :)

Assembly Hall after IU's last second win over Kentucky

10 thoughts on “The House (STILL) Divided

  1. Donna April 3, 2012 at 4:55 pm Reply

    Hope you continue to allow me to comment on your blog when I tell you we Mizzou fans were rooting for Kentucky..no one likes Kansas in football or basketball if you are a true Missouri Tiger fan..of course we cannot brag to much our Mizzou Tigers who were ranked in the top 5 just about all season, lost opening game of March Madness to some complete unknown college..sooooo sad

    • klutzymama April 3, 2012 at 5:07 pm Reply

      Yeah, that was too bad about Mizzou, Donna. I bet that game messed up a lot of brackets!

  2. Becky April 3, 2012 at 8:51 pm Reply

    Talk about rubbing it in!! LOL
    Oh well, gotta stand for something and it might as well be IU b-ball.
    Poor Brian he’s SOOOO outnumbered.

  3. mel April 4, 2012 at 8:08 am Reply

    Sorry KM I can’t stand b-ball now football….
    hugs
    BBB

    • klutzymama April 4, 2012 at 9:09 pm Reply

      Well I know we’re on the same page where football is concerned, Triple B. ;)

    • klutzymama April 4, 2012 at 9:19 pm Reply

      BBB,
      I’ve been trying to leave you a comment on your blog all day, but for some reason it doesn’t want to let me. Anyway – just wanted to say I’m so glad you don’t need surgery & I hope your PT goes well!

  4. jensamom23 April 5, 2012 at 7:36 am Reply

    That’s just mean! Tee Hee…hilarious, though! :-) What did Brian say?

    • klutzymama April 5, 2012 at 9:01 am Reply

      Oh Jen, he was all rolling his eyes & “whatever”. Hahahaha! I love it!

  5. Kim April 5, 2012 at 9:03 am Reply

    Love it! We are all about jokes here too. Guess it runs in the family. We’ll have to tell you some
    time what we did to your uncle on his birthday.
    We are divided here too. Been on the east coast too long!
    We would’ve loved to see Brian’s reaction.
    Thanks for the laughs.

    • klutzymama April 5, 2012 at 9:11 am Reply

      Can’t wait to hear what you did to him. :) I remember vividly how mean he was to the Spinster when we were young, so I’m sure he deserved it!! hahaha! Just kidding, Brucie! (Well sort of…he was pretty mean) :) Love you guys.

Leave a Reply

Klutzy Mama

One hard workin' dad, an accident-prone mama, and two crazy kids!

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

