Highlights From the Week

Well, I didn’t do a very good job of getting pictures from the past week, but I did get a few good ones from a very special day in Nanner’s class.

Hannah’s teacher is a fantastic lady.  I volunteer in Hannah’s class all day on Fridays and I enjoy it so much.  She makes learning something that the kids look forward to and is so fun to be with.

She was recently diagnosed with breast cancer (or breath cancer, as Nanner pronounces it) and while a lot of people would understandably be changed in a negative way by such a scary thing, she is her same wonderful self.  She knows that this is part of God’s plan for her life and she is fighting the cancer head-on and keeping her wonderful faith in the Lord first and foremost in her life.

On Friday, we had a surprise birthday party for her.  She is getting ready to go through radiation/chemo and will be out for several weeks, so we kind of added a breast cancer awareness element to the party as well.

All of the kids made her a card and got her a pink t-shirt that says, “Fight Like a Girl” on the back. I printed this sign out on cardstock & framed it.  The lighting in the room made it so that you can’t actually see it in the picture, but it says:  Keep Calm & Fight On with the pink breast cancer ribbon at the top.

One of the other moms brought in sugar cookies with pink icing ribbons on them and pins & bracelets for all of her students to wear to show their support for their teacher.

Katie’s teacher excused her from class so that she could come down & join the party.  Mrs. Eng had her in first grade also & Katie adores her.  She’s going to be coming in some to help the substitute out as she feels able to and is working on setting something up on Skype so she can video chat with the kids while she’s gone.

It was a great party and I have to say that I am going to miss her so much.  I will be praying hard for the cancer to be obliterated and a quick recovery for her!

And hopefully I will do a better job this week on getting some pictures of what we did.

On a totally unrelated note – I am SO frustrated.  I have this great new camera that takes awesome pictures and the quality when I post them on here is so cruddy that it’s maddening.  I’ve asked the forums and have got some good tips, but so far nothing has made much of a difference.  Maybe it’s my lack of photography/computer knowledge that is keeping me from being able to get good looking photos on here, but I am pulling my hair out!  Does anyone have any suggestions?  I know that the photos have to be compressed in order to be put on my blog and that is what is causing the quality issue, but I do not know how to remedy it even though I can plainly see on others blogs that their photos look great.

I was told to try saving them as PNG files.  I did.  It helped a teensy bit, but not much.  I was also told to download them, then resize them in a different program like Gimp.  I did that, but I have no idea how to use Gimp and not a lot of time to learn it.

If anyone has any other suggestions I would greatly appreciate it!

5 thoughts on “Highlights From the Week

  1. Gretchen October 2, 2011 at 10:12 pm Reply

    Oh, wow, what a wonderful teacher. I am so sorry to hear that. You are just such a good mommy – volunteering every week in her class, but I expect nothing less from you.

  2. Becky October 3, 2011 at 8:27 am Reply

    Sorry to hear that Hannah’s teacher must battle this disease. With today’s technology she has a great chance of beating this. I know several people who have recently.
    See if this article helps you any with the photography dilemma….

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/photography/2010/12/why-your-photos-may-look-bad-on-facebook-and-the-web/

    • klutzymama October 3, 2011 at 8:42 am Reply

      Thanks for the link, Becky. I will check it out.

  3. Jen October 3, 2011 at 9:02 am Reply

    Praying for Nanner’s teacher. She sounds like a true fighter and Becky is right with the technology today. What a awesome party you all threw! Wish I could help on the photo question…I am clueless.

  4. Lori Eng October 8, 2011 at 8:42 am Reply

    It’s been so weird, I find that breast cancer has often left me speechless!! For me that is very new, lol. Actually, maybe it’s all the support I’ve been getting that has left me speechless. Thanks Amee, you’ll be seeing me!! (on skype and in the classroom)

Leave a Reply

Klutzy Mama

One hard workin' dad, an accident-prone mama, and two crazy kids!

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

